Jake & Rita

  • Canada
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    So here goes, a little about this Canadian Swiss couple.
    Him
    Got the travel bug early in life spending a year working as maintenance person at a resort in the Netherlands on an exchange program in my youth. Since then have done a volunteer build with habitat for humanity in Costa Rica and a volunteer construction project in Lithuania. Now in early retirement with time to explore the world and create memories with new found friends.
    Work experience is varied having worked at a window manufacturer, recreational vehicle builder, plastics plant, furniture manufacture, meat processing, saw mill, orientated strand board mill to name a few. Back ground is in maintenance and business management logistics. Enjoys hiking, cycling, camping, woodworking and avid do it yourselfer.
    Her
    After completing cooking apprenticeship did a 6 month farm exchange in the US and then a 6 month cattle ranch in the remote interior of British Columbia. Immigrating to Canada and spending the next 23 years working on a diary farm and raising a family. Enjoys the outdoors gardening, hiking , camping and reading.
    Hope to find hostes where we can both contribute, learn and meet new friends.

    Why would you want to host us? Honest, respectfull, reliable with strong work ethic who enjoy learning and having fun in whatever we are doing. We would love to talk with you to see if we can have a mutually rewarding stay with you.

    Our goal is to do workaway during the Canadian winter in warmer climates.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Cycling
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    DIY & crafts
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Carpentry, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, gardening, housekeeping.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Age

    58 & 55

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      penicelin

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback



Friends

Feedback