Elana

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Hong Kong, Japan, United Kingdom, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/11/2019 - 31/12/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I am a female and retired. TESOL volunteer English conversation teacher now. Was in Ladies Fashion, in California..Have been to Spain 2 times in 2015 and 2016 for teaching English to children and adults. I also taught reading in Hawaii for 5 years at Read Aloud program. I left the corporate world and love small villages and art and outdoors. I am mature and dependable and like travel and this is what i do. Mature and dependable. Have lived in Japan and did teach conversation there part time in the late 1980's. I was working in marketing also. I am now looking for Japan Onsen areas.
    Now I will update, as I was lucky to have two Japan Workaway assignments in September 2017 and they were true to the traditional historically preserved countryside Inns. It went very well and it was all the chores as in a hostel or guest house.

  • Interests

    Yoga / Wellness
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Pets
    Art & design
    Movies & TV
    Culture
    Self development
    Fashion or beauty
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    I'm interested in:  

    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    tesol cert. people person I have taught English in Spain in two different programs. I am a volunteer english teacher. I started reading to middle school in Hawaii for 5 years also. I also taught in Japan for one year. English conversation. I can stage propertyies. Make a room look great for renting.
    I will clean rooms and not afraid of work. This is fair trade!

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    american

  • What else ...

    I am retired and travel and art are my hobbies. I like small villages . I was always in big cities in the corporate world before I retired. When in Spain I shared an art project. I sew small dolls for refugees. And also little black dolls about" The Underground Railroad" history of slave time in America. I do this 1 time a week in Hollywood with animation artists, they are very talented, not me! Somehow I hope to gift them to refugees, just a thought in progress. I just got the International Driver permit also.
    I have just booked my First Workaway trip for September 7 to 23rd. Then open to more dates.
    ALL OF SEPTEMBER Of 2018 I was in Japan , Yes!
    END OCTOBER is booked in GREECE in 2018. And I stayed for 2 months because we got along so well. I has only originally planned 2 weeks.
    Then I can fly to anywhere, more Japan?
    Now 2018 I will search in Mexico area as well.
    I am now looking for Vietnam Japan, and Hong Kong.

    There are references from Japan and Greece , which are the best memories now.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no but not meat so much

Feedback