Evan

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 18/03/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello world! How is you today? My name is Evan Miller, I am 23 and born and raised in Indianapolis, Indiana. Go Pacers! I graduated from DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana in Dec. 2018 with a degree in Environmental Geosciences. Upon graduating I applied for and was offered a nice cushy laboratory job in the city, but began to think while I'm young, dumb, and broke, I should travel and live a little. So I moved out of the home state for the first time and took an AmeriCorps position up in Anchorage, Alaska in March to help with the houseless populations here, and maybe to live differently for a little while. Unfortunately, as a result of the state budget cuts, my year-long program had to end prematurely in August due to capacity issues. In my short time here I've learned one thing about Alaska: I still want to learn more. I am hoping to spend at least a few months in this awesome state and learn whatever I can from its peoples, places, and cultures. I am a hard worker and am willing to do whatever I can to help out! Thank you for taking time to read my profile and give me consideration!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Professionally, I've worked extensively in the food service industry, having been a waiter, bartender, bakery clerk, and pizza maker in the past. I also spent a lot of time learning construction and upkeep through my time on my grandfather's farm in Muncie, Indiana (corn and soy), and through my time with Appalachian Service Project (like Kentucky Habitat for Humanity). I also love to cook, have a car and can drive, have a working proficiency in German, and am who my grandparents contact when there's a computer issue.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I love the outdoors, I've already been able to climb several of the peaks in the Chugach Mountains, most recently being O'Malley. I hike Turnagain Arm and Crow's Pass quite often too! I am an avid runner and usually run every day I am not hiking. I love to cook, and if you are a fan of garlic and beans, will do my best to cook a good meal for you. I am also an avid puzzler, like to think of myself as an amateur music critic despite being unable to play whatsoever, and am known to enjoy a good book on the on the regular. I love to travel, and so far my favorite place I've visited here in Alaska is Chicken, where my dad spent some time as a goldminer in the early 80s. Outdoors is my passion; I think its the reason I went into environmental geosciences (if you're curious about rocks I can tell you a lot). I also love to volunteer and do my part to help the communities I find myself in. I have learned that service is a two way thing; in helping another, they in turn help you grow as an individual. It builds a community!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback