Erica

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Cambodia, China, Germany, Indonesia, Laos, Philippines, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/09/2019 - 08/04/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2369

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi everyone! I am Erica, originally from New York. I have been on the road for about 4 years now. I work online as an English teacher which is what funds my travels and enables me to continue indefinitely. I like to travel slow and stay in a place for a while and live like a local, work a bit and really get to know the place before moving on. I love to use resources such as Workaway, Housesitting, Couchsurfing, etc. where you really get the feeling of living in a place as the locals do versus just being a tourist.
    I am an energetic, easygoing, spontaneous, openminded, and young hearted free-spirit that loves to meet new people. I am a lover of life and believe in enjoying every moment and learning as much as we can about this beautiful planet. I love to keep busy and learn new things, always taking on new projects/challenges to improve myself and my life, along with the lives of others. My current missions include learning massage, acroyoga, Spanish, German and a bit of Mandarin as well. I have been practicing yoga, acrobatics and aerial silks for many years and these are some of my passions. I also love to cook. I love to eat healthy and work out when I can. I love music, dancing, and of course, traveling!
    I have been a host on Airbnb, Workaway and Couchsurfing for many years while I was living in Miami. I rented apartments in Miami as vacation rentals and sometimes I took in Workawayers to help with them. So I have quite a bit of experience as a host myself. I have had nothing but good experiences. I love to take people in and help them around my city when I am there and now I am traveling in hopes of receiving the same kind of experiences that I love to give to my guests. I am also a hard worker, quick learner, and very well rounded, having worked many various types of jobs in the past. I am always up to trying and learning new things.

    You can check out my Couchsurfing profile here:
    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/live_laugh_love_learn

    or instagram: EricaEscapes

    I have completed 4 workaways to date. Three in Europe, one in Spain and another in England, both with families, helping out with the kids and also teaching English/Spanish. I also completed one in Poland, helping out with a festival. The last workaway was in Ecuador, helping out at a hotel.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Accounting skills (bookkeeping, finances)
    Customer service
    Spanish and English Language Skills
    Housekeeping
    Hospitality
    Yoga
    Aerial silks

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Erica also has a German passport through her family in addition to her American passport.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Climbing inside a tree in Costa Rica
Rooftop practice in Panama
Practicing acroyoga
With our lovely host family in Barcelona
Antigua, Guatemala
Yoga time!
Volcano boarding in Nicaragua!

Feedback