ELIZABETH

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2021 - 01/08/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm seeking a workaway experience that will help me foster practical skills to increase my self-sufficiency and ability to contribute to my community. Specifically, I'm interested in: carpentry, permaculture farming/gardening, food preservation, improving soil health, bee keeping, and different types of composting (vermiculture). I want to develop my engineering mindset. I take initiative and am highly coachable, grant me constructive guidance and I'm good to go. I love sitting around a fire at night to reflect on the lessons we learned that day.

    I spent this past winter in Ecuador volunteering at organic food/yoga forests through yogatrade.com. I taught yoga and acted as an organic farmhand in exchange for room and board at Finca Pinguino and Wisdom Forest. My long-term dream is to live off the land with a vibrant community. There, I'd organize skill sharing opportunities and funding to increase accessibility for low-impact creating-not-consuming lifestyles.

    I have an interdisciplinary BA entitled Decolonial Connections and a minor in Education and Social Justice. I studied in Baltimore, Manila, and graduated in Bellingham, WA (2019). I was introduced to the life altering power of vipassana meditation in 2016 in Yangon, Myanmar. I've been privileged to travel to over 20 countries and connect with incredible people along the way (mama worked for an airline).

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    + Just completed an intensive 5-month natural building internship in Moab, UT. Learned carpentry and other skills building affordable sustainable straw-cell housing
    + I'm an enthusiastic quick learner and hard worker with a healthy sense of humor. I strive to maintain an attitude of gratitude, joy, and abundance. I believe mutually beneficial relationships are always possible with self-awareness and loving direct communication!
    + My friends call me a kitchen witch. I enjoy showing my love through feeding others.
    + I can teach yoga and guided meditation.
    + I love working in plant nurseries.
    + I carry knowledge about the history of the Philippines and Filipinx-American legacies of working-class multiracial solidarity in the United States. We could discuss the intricacies of racial capitalism and strategies to leave toxic systems out of the beautiful sustainable world we're building!
    + I can help with SEO content writing and lend my stylistic eye to your social media presence.
    + I can sew and cross stitch--I made PaloSanto eye pillows during my stay at Finca Pinguino for their yoga studio
    + I'm good with children/youth. I worked as a part-time teacher and special ed aide at nearby high schools and taught lessons in the Lumad Bakwit (refugee) School in Manila.
    + I was a division 1 athlete in university and love sports. This experience honed my teamwork, communication, and time management skills.
    + I have 5+ years experience in customer service as a bartender, server, and barista

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Tagalog: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      just pollen and dust mites

    • Special dietary requirements
      preferred plant based

Photos

Feedback