Nora & Emmett

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/02/2021 - 31/05/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    We are both Washington, DC natives who are looking forward to safely traveling and exploring again after being stuck inside for almost a year during the pandemic. We are new to Workaway, but are very excited about the possibilities it offers.

    Nora: Months of online college at the University of Vermont studying political science and environmental studies made me realize that I needed to take a semester off and refresh. I love sunrises, picnics on the beach, planning ahead, and animals of any kind. Luckily, the US football season is over, so you won't have to put up with my New England Patriots obsession. I am hoping to learn a lot about the wildlife and ecosystems of wherever I travel, and am particularly interested in whales, turtles, and marine conservation. I never get tired of talking to people and talking about food. I can't wait for our adventures!

    Emmett: I finished my freshman year of college and decided to take the year off to explore my personal interests and the world around me. I hiked the entire Maine portion of the Appalachian Trail last fall, and then put my political interests to good use by campaigning in the most recent US election. I have lived in a city my entire life, and would love to experience a more laid back and rural lifestyle. Baseball is a huge passion, and I would love to share that with the people I meet. I'm always game to learn new things and am excited to meet people with perspectives different from my own. I'm not afraid of hard work, but consider myself easy going and flexible.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Team sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    History
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Nora: I have worked at a farmer's market for 5 years, so I have experience in customer service, communication, and sales. Anything involving socializing and talking to people is great for me! I have a limited knowledge of gardening, planting, and harvesting, but I am extremely eager to learn. I absolutely love to cook and bake, and am always looking for people to enjoy my creations. Working and playing with animals is fun for me, and I can look after and care for them. I thrive off of making order out of chaos by creating organizational systems. I worked in a 3rd grade classroom for a semester, and enjoy spending time with kids and teaching. My willingness to learn applies to a multitude of activities- I may not have the most experience, but I would love to add some new skills to my repertoire and try new things.

    Emmett: I have not had a ton of experience doing farm and handy work, but am a quick and eager learner. I have done some painting and wheelbarrow hauling, and am not afraid to sweat. I'm no hulk, but am reasonably strong. I take pride in whatever I do, and am a thorough and reliable worker. I enjoy picking fruit and completing other tasks with a defined goal and measurable results. I have experience babysitting and tutoring kids, and also have good research skills. I'm adventurous and love trying new things, especially when it comes to food. I throw myself into whatever I'm doing, and follow through on long term goals.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    While it is not a priority, we would love to pick up basic vocabulary of any new languages!

  • Age

    20 & 20

  • What else ...

    We are always down for anything involving healthy competition, tropical fruit, or bagels.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nora is a vegetarian, and Emmett tries not to eat red meat.

Photos

Feedback