Emma

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2020 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Lover of nature, music, beauty, movement. Life-long learner, I am curious, enthusiastic and a hard-worker.
    A long-time piano player and singer, I would love to share what I know about music, or just make/enjoy music with others :-)
    Other interests include: yoga, meditation, dancing, permaculture, gardening, cooking, writing, video-making, & cultural exchange (particularly learning new languages).
    I have an undergraduate degree in leadership & philosophy, I did my honours in International Development Studies.
    I am in pursuit of a healthy, holistic lifestyle, keen to make authentic connections and spread positive vibes into the world, while also learning and absorbing as much as possible.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I've been playing piano since I was 7, studying both practical and theoretical aspects following the Royal Conservatory of Music curriculum. I can teach people how to read music, how to play different scales and chords, etc. I was an alto singer in choir growing up and would love to help people learn to sing harmony or sight-sing music.
    I was News Editor of my university newspaper and I am adept at writing, editing and creating content. I could help craft/proofread blog posts, newsletters, social media content.
    I also have some experience with video-making, everything from creating the story line to filming to editing (which I took a class on in uni). Although not a professional by any means, I could create some basic content--for social media/volunteer recruitment, or maybe just for fun & memory :-)
    I've been practicing yoga consistently for several years now. I've yet to obtain my yoga teacher training (hopefully soon!) but I enjoy sharing my practice and the knowledge I have learned so far.
    I have some gardening skills, having maintained my own garden for a few years now. I'm still a beginner, but I have lots of enthusiasm and eagerness to learn!
    I love to cook! I'm always down to experiment and try out new flavours but I can keep it simple too. I also don't mind helping with cleaning and the small, daily tasks that keep a household afloat.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I love to travel and learn about different cultures/perspectives. My trips have included a 3-week travel study in France, backpacking around Europe and SouthEast Asia, and volunteering in Pokhara, Nepal for 10 weeks.

    I am young, passionate and open to experience as I try to find my place in the world. I have lots left to learn and I know the world has many teachers outside of the traditional classroom--and so I turn to Workaway!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mostly vegetarian/vegan, but can be flexible

Photos

Feedback