Emily

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/04/2020 - 30/09/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I'm a ceramic artist/Potter and I adore animals. I am keen to develop my skills in farming, permaculture and naturopathy. I'm a good communicator and social being, I love to be around people, share different life stories and especially I love to teach and be engaged with pottery, to show people how simple it really is as one of the oldest crafts and if you're interested, how even to set up your own little pottery at home. I also like time to myself to read and listen to books. My dream is to find a place where I can be of service most of the time, I like to take long walks, preferably hikes, but I like to be part of an ongoing or running project that will be engaging for most of the day. I love the sunshine, I'm not shy of hard work and I am very keen on music, art, literature and basically all things festivals! I am a mountain dweller at heart. I like to rise and sleep with the sun, meet new people and explore the world through sharing my passion and learn what I can from wherever I go.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Art & design
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Teaching - in January-February 2020 I was part of an English teaching program in Bologna, Northern Italy. I taught classes every day of the week and Saturday mornings to children age 6-12.
    I have taught art and ceramics in New Hampshire, USA for a total of 6 months, two 3 month periods spread over 2 years, to children and also to fellow camp councellors. I taught classes in throwing and hand-building and ran the ins and outs of the studio myself; including kilns, recycling clay, and keeping organised and timely studio. I've also taught older students while I was at University and helped with charity art classes and workshops in raku. My own style of pottery uses quite natural techniques such as smoke fired kilns without glazes, I have built two of my own wood fired kilns and plan to build another in the new year. I have confidence to teach anything I know how to do and think sharing knowledge is an important and powerful tool.
    Meditation and yoga - I am a keen yogi, I tend to go for a more free flow embodiment practice rather than reaching poses at the moment. Something about being high up in the mountains also helps me to meditate.
    I'm a strong swimmer and I have taught swimming lessons on an intermediate level. I have competed regionally in open water events, and nationally in indoor events. I'm a qualified life guard and CPR trained.
    Passion for natural remedies and ecological, sustainable living, basic permaculture and personal food farming knowledge.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I have a strong and innate connection and appreiation for animals, working in harmony with nature.
    I am a skilled ceramic artist and potter; I can throw, sculpt, design, draw and run my own studio.

    I have a minor allergy to cats (only with prolonged or direct contact) :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Most small household pets like cats and Guinea pigs, but only with direct contact.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Majority vegetarian, preferably vegan, occasionally indulging in prosciutto crudo, chorizo and the odd cheese board if the occasion calls for it ;) .

Photos

Feedback