Emily

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Currently at home in Wales, saving some money for the next trip, after spending some time in Ericeira, Portugal Volunteering at a surf & yoga retreat, where I prepared and serve breakfast for the guests, I was also working for a small surfboard factory, selling surf equipment / gear and working with clients to order custom made boards to their need and desire!

    I'm looking to live with relaxed and chilled people and bring the skills I have to help out wherever I can!!

    I was lucky to have grown up in a small, beautiful, fishing village called Aberdyfi. It’s inspired my love of the outdoors – I feel most content when I'm surfing in the ocean, cruising on my skateboard or high-up a mountain hiking! Being connected to nature has always been a passion and led me to study Outdoor Education at college – giving me the skills to pass on my knowledge and understanding to others in meaningful ways. I’d like to think of myself as fun and easy-going social butterfly, I enjoy being around people of different ages and backgrounds.

    Having lived by the sea for most of my life I also have passion for marine conservation and am currently doing a short online course in Marine Biology. It’s one of several interests I have to challenge and push myself further, both mentally and physically, including yoga, running and reading. I’m always keen to learn new skills and don't shy away form being out of my comfort zone and embarking on new challenges.

    While it’s been a strange and difficult year for everyone, I’m keen to push myself forward, my love of the outdoors, food and learning about new cultures means I’m yearning and for my next challenge.

    A new adventure, with a tight-knit local community feel is what I'm aiming for!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Van life
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Whilst growing up, I worked for my Dad in his pub, which has given me a strong work ethic from the start and really brough out my social side. The skills I used here has led to my current role as a Supervisor at contemporary pizzeria and bar in Shrewsbury.

    My role as a restaurant supervisor has helped me even further and my love for customer service just keeps growing. My responsibilities range from giving customers a great experience to managing junior members of staff, ordering supplies and working collaboratively with the kitchen staff. While it’s great being part of a close-knit team, I’ve always been independent and have an adventurous spirit.

    I am also cocktail and bar trained - I love the buzz that working on the bar gives. I'd love to be able to bring my skills to somewhere new!

    The summer seasons in Aberdyfi have always been the busiest for me. I spent most of my summers as a teen / young adult babysitting for different families who were visiting on holiday. This allowed me to care for children, use my pastoral skills and keep the young children occupied; playing games, reading books, building sandcastles and simply having fun!

    During the summer of 2018 I worked as a HouseParent at an outdoor centre; The Outward Bound Trust. The main role I had here was helping young children see the beauty and importance of being connected to nature, as in most cases, this was their first experience of being in the sea. This role enabled be to build many useful skills including; managing a group of young children, communicating efficiently, working alongside outdoor instructors and running team-building activities.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Welsh: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    I have completed a few challenges along the way and I am super keen to add to the list;

    In 2017 I completed the 24 Peak Challenge in the Lake District. As a group we challenged both our mental and physical abilities and worked together closely as a team to get to the finish line; completing the 24 mountains in 19 hours was a huge achievement as a group and for me as an individual!

    In 2018 I did a 3 day kayaking expedition down the Ardeche River, France, which was an incredible and challenging experience.

    The Yorkshire 3 Peaks challenge which I completed in 2018 also challenged my skills once again. Being a positive influence in a close-knit team is something I consider myself as, and I can't wait to bring all the energy I have to the next adventure.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback