Eric

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2020 - 01/11/2023

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling


    Ranching and gardening. Human and wind powered boats. Bow hunting. Wine making and good food in general. Woodworking. Carpentry. Manly pursuits.

  • Description

    I can work a few hours per day in exchange for a place to park my van, water and hopefully some wifi too. I'd like to help with any kind of regenerative agriculture, permaculture, ranching, dairy, homesteading, off-grid living, solar, electronics, carpentry, building, woodworking, stone and earth works, sail boats, wooden boats, etc... I'm not afraid to get dirty doing it, I can work hard and am very proactive and capable of working independently.

    Although I don't have experience planning carpentry projects I am good with measurements, squaring and cutting with power and hand saws.  I have worked a lot with 12V electricity and solar on my van and sailboats.  Generally I'm pretty capable with anything I get into though it takes time to develop any new skill that requires hand eye coordination.

    I've spent the last 4 months on a palm tree plantation near La Paz and have gotten pretty good with a machete. I've also done a lot of tool sharpening: machete blades, clippers and blades on a wood chipper on which I also installed a new carburetor.

    I have some equipment: large chainsaw, fine woodworking hand tools, sharpening jig, whetstones, meat grinder, heavy duty grain mill, wine making gear, a copper still, large stainless pots. I also have a fletching jig and practice traditional archery so maybe I can help harvest some game from the land.

    I worked as a freelance web developer for a number of years with interactive technology like PHP, MySql, Python, Javascript, HTML, Wordpress, Stripe payments, etc...  so if you need internet help that would be pretty easy for me.  I have also programmed on the Arduino micro-controller device to interface with motors, solenoids, solid-state relays, digital thermometers, timers, etc...  this could be useful for developing fully automated, small-scale industrial processes that respond dynamically to changing conditions.

    I can go pretty much anywhere in the US or Mexico. I speak Spanish fairly fluently for a gringo.

    I'm a 52 year-old man, very healthy and strong of body and mind.  I have worked recently as a substitute teacher in California which means I'm educated and have passed the background checks.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Woodworking
    Electronics
    Computers
    Cooking
    Preserving
    Boating
    Archery
    Languages

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Latin: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    52

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      I just don't like artificial junk, which includes 1 or 2 things you might not think of as such. Meat, saturated fat, gluten and everything else are all on the menu.

Photos

Feedback