Eilif

From: Norway

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, France, Georgia, Germany, Iran, Lebanon, Russia, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2019 - 01/03/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I am a 20 year old Norwegian boy, interested in skiing, reading, hiking, sailing, climbing and humans in general. I am currently doing a a gap year, and I am very excited for what I can learn and who I can meet as a Workawayer.
    I have been workawaying since September 2019.
    Not to mention, I hope to travel places and work with something that makes me able to do a positive impact wherever I may end up.
    The school year 2018-19 I was attending an outdoor-based school with an ecological and sustainable focus, called a "Folk High School" (typical norwegian thing to do after high school). The school is located in the Lofoten Islands, in northern Norway. Here, I got to know the arctic mountains, and myself - however, now I want to expand my horizons.
    I am ready to face new challenges abroad, meet new people, and practise language! My goal is to become really fluent in German, after studying it for six years, and maybe see if learning French and/or Spanish is an option after a while.
    I would like to work with children (I am planning to become a teacher or to work in a kindergarten), activity leadership, building/maintenance, with service and/or general housekeeping - just to mention some things that interest me. Otherwise, I am always ready for a new challenge.
    But, most important: I believe in the value of curiousity, a friendly smile, a good conversation and opening up to others!
    Then, the possibilities are endless :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am outgoing and enthustiastic, and I enjoy having responsibility. I am always looking for new ways to improve, and my belief is that dialouge and cooperation is a key to doing good things!
    My work experience includes working as a museum guide, instructor, coach (sailing and scouting), and organizer of events for youth organizations.
    I also have experience with childcare/babysitting.

    I have worked as an assistant teacher, in the School of Oslo municipality, and a hiking/ski touring guide for the Norwegian Trekking Assosiation. I am a personal activity assistant for young people with disabilities, working through my local municipality. These experiences have taught me how to ensure learning and development for children and youth between 6 and 16.

    In my spare time I am a volunteer youth journalist, and I also have some experience with carpentry, gardening and cooking.

    As a member of board of different organizations, such as Norwegian Trekking Assosiation and the high school I went to, I have learned organizing larger events and long-term planning economy.

    I always enjoy challenging myself to do new/difficult/exciting/unknown things.
    Most important, however, is not a skill, but a passion: to meet other people with openness and curiosity!

  • Languages spoken

    Sami: Fluent
    Danish: Intermediate
    German: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Norwegian

  • What else ...

    I like taking photos and exploring food culture!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

My life motto: ut på tur, aldri sur! (directly translated: going for a trip, never angry!)
Looking at the world from different perspectives is important

Feedback