Emily

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1572

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi!
    I’m Emily but I go by the nickname Ems. I am a recently returned United States Peace Corps Volunteer; I lived in a rural village in southeastern Botswana and worked at the primary school educating Botswana’s youngest and brightest life skills and HIV/AIDS prevention. My two-year commitment and backpacking adventure up through southeastern and eastern Africa: swimming with humpback whales in Mozambique, dancing the night away at the Lake of Stars music festival in Malawi, scuba diving in Zanzibar’s crystal clear waters, hiking the Congo-Nile Trail in Rwanda, and indulging in the food, spices and coffee of Ethiopia has come to an end. It's safe to say that I caught it…I caught the travel bug that renders those effected completely and utterly useless in the name of societal norms and my mother’s expectations.
    Now that I have been home for a few months, reconnected with friends and family, consumed everything and anything; I am ready to head out on the road again.
    When I am not working or on a plane; I love to rock climb, hike, kayak, read and write.
    The dream is to learn the skills in order to be self-sufficient, passionate about life and content.
    I look forward to hearing and learning from you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Interpersonal skills, passion, empathy, permagardening, construction, creative problem solving, resourcefulness, photography and writing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Setswana: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I cannot wait to meet you.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian/Vegan

Photos

Feedback