Emily

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Japan, Poland, Spain, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/06/2019 - 31/05/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am an empathetic, easy-going gap year student looking for new experiences and opportunities (in my profile picture I'm the girl on the left, the man on the right is my dad - he won't be travelling with me!). I have just finished A Levels in maths, further maths, physics and the extended project and am hoping to study physics at university.

    I joined WorkAway because I love the idea of living with a host family, making friends and getting to authentically experience different cultures and ways of life. I have lived in the same area of England for all my life and I would really like to get out of my 'bubble'. I'm naturally quite a shy person but I really want to push myself and get out of my comfort zone. I'm also keen to get involved in projects that will make a genuine difference in some way.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    For the past year I've been working as a tutor for a company called Bright Young Things. I teach children (aged 5-13 y/o) maths, English and science in groups of up to six children. This has helped me become more assertive and given me valuable teaching experience. I would be more than happy to help out with teaching English (or sciences and maths). My parents were foster carers for a year and my mum was a childminder for about 5 years so I have a lot of experience working with kid and would be happy to help out with child care. I have a valid enhanced DBS certificate (UK police check that shows I am safe to work with children and vulnerable adults).

    I do a lot of climbing and running, so I'm in good physical health and more than happy to help out with any physical tasks. I moved out from my parents house about a year ago, so I've had a lot of house work experience and am more than happy to help out around the house! I am an awful cook but I can cook basic meals for myself and would be more than happy to cook for you (although I'm not sure how tasty it would be!) and I'd love to learn some recipes :)

    My dad recently moved house so I've been helping him out with wall paper stripping/moving things etc. I don't have a huge amount of decorating experience, but I'm happy to try new things and learn new skills.

    I have recently spent a week volunteering with Care 4 Calais - a charity that distributes aid to refugees across France and Belgium (definitely worth Googling them, they are doing incredible work and are in great need of volunteers and donations :)). While I was there I helped with hair cuts, English lessons, distributions and sorting donations in the warehouse. This was an intense, eye-opening experience that allowed me to develop a much deeper understanding of the refugee crisis. I went by myself which I really enjoyed as I think I met a lot more people than I would have had I been in a group, and it was a great first step in going out of my comfort zone :).

  • Languages spoken

    English. I'm learning Spanish but I'm still very much a beginner.

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    I'm really enjoy learning. I taught myself A Level maths, and I go to physics lectures at local universities and help out at outreach events.
    I do a bit of volunteer tutoring. Currently I'm teaching an adult man how to read and basic maths.
    I do have a stammer. It can be quite noticeable when I'm nervous, but is usually quite mild. It doesn't stop me from doing anything, and you're welcome to ask me any questions about it :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat pork.

Photos

These are my rabbits, Geoffrey and Wilson.
Me with my friend.
Me with my rabbit (Geoffrey).
This is the climbing centre I climb at.

Feedback