Dominik

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/03/2019 - 21/03/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    This will be my first time with WorkAway. So I would like to explain shortly my expectations. I want to experience the feeling of adaption. To join a foreign person's home is exciting and requires respect. It is about getting to know a different way of life, a new environment and challenges. My friends consider me as attentive and flexible. Therefore I like to take this challenge that I think of I'm able to fulfill.

    Last summer I stayed at the Christian community of Taizé and realized that the question I was asking myself was wrong. I was always only asking: What do I want to receive from life? But what matters at least the same is: What can I give? I think volunteering at WorkAway embodies this mindset. It also requires the willingness to learn. Since I was young I taught my self web development. After thousands of hours spent solving problems I own a mindset which might be considered autonomous. I studied Computer Science for three years. Right now I'm more interested in studying humans. Therefore I started from scratch to study Psychology. I'm never tired of learning new things.

    When volunteering I would like to learn new things. This especially means that - although I'm glad to help with my skills for computers, research and organization - I won't hesitate working with my hands. Cleaning, maintaining, gardening or building things are tasks I can imagine to accomplish. I tend to aim for perfection, so please also tell me what is not needed.

    At least I can give you small examples of me enjoying manual work. When cleaning my room, when repairing my jackets and trousers, when maintaining my bike or when I once volunteered in a gardening project at school for a weekend at a retirement home. I hope soonly I could add something I learned at your place!

    And finally I would like to improve my spanish to have a better understanding of all wonderful countries speaking this language.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    *️️ Teamwork
    *️️ Learning
    *️ Teaching different subjects
    *️️ Cleaning
    *️️ Gardening
    *️️ House keeping
    *️️ Driving
    *️️ Shopping
    *️️ Cooking
    *️️ Small repairs
    *️️ Computer maintenance
    *️️ Web Development
    *️️ Researching

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, Spanish

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      -

    • Special dietary requirements
      flexible vegetarian

Photos

Feedback