Rebecca & David

From: United States & Argentina

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Chile, Colombia, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/01/2020 - 17/05/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! We are a couple currently traveling through Mexico, Central America, and possibly beyond over the next few months. We are very excited to participate in workaways whenever we can.

    Rebecca-
    I've lived in Tucson, AZ and the Tohono O'odham Indian Reservation for the past seven years, splitting my time between my house in the city and a 22 foot off-grid travel trailer in the middle of the desert. I have been working at a high school for the past five years as a college and career guidance counselor on the reservation. I just finished applications to law school to pursue indigenous peoples law and policy, and I am taking this time to reflect on my life, be mindful in my daily living, experience new communities, make new friends, and learn new things about myself. I am a very friendly, enthusiastic, and extroverted person. I love to learn, in all the different forms it takes- reading, conversation, and especially walks around new places.

    David-
    I'm from Cordoba, Argentina but I have been traveling over the past few years, mostly in the United States in New York and Northern California. I have spent the past three summers working as a life guard at different camps and hotels in the US, and I have an International Life Saving Certification. I enjoy being in nature, peace and quiet, and enjoying beautiful places far away from cities and crowds.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Rebecca- I have worked at a high school for the past five years, and at an elementary school for two years before that. I love being around people, assisting people, talking to people, and helping them solve problems. have good computer skills, particularly typing. I would love to help out in any customer-service type of job, particularly working at a front desk. I love to grow food and landscape design. I spent 5 years building and running gardens at schools. I can help plan, prepare land, and grow food. I also have experience designing and installing rainwater harvesting systems with cisterns. I I also have experience cooking for large groups. Though I've never had a professional cooking job, I cook a lot in my free time. I spent 4 years working cleaning dormitories at my university, and I have no problem doing deep cleaning projects, bathrooms, etc. I can also help with painting and other household/maintenance projects.
    David- I grew up working in my family’s lumber yard and I have wood working, carpentry, and blacksmithing skills. I can help design and build things for house and garden, construction in general, since I've been working in sales with a lot of different construction materials. I also am a certified ocean life guard.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    30 & 26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback