Denise & Nigel

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Canada, France, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Thailand ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2019 - 03/03/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello we are a mature couple, honest caring committed with a AAA credit rating. Both professionals having ran our own businesses also In the corporate world. Independent self managing people. Now early retirees, young early 60’s We mix well & like to have fun whilst maintaining respectable standards. Travelled individuals having done most of it independently with our practical and sensible approach serving us well. Sports minded, adaptable Cycling, canoeing a love of the outdoor life and both animal lovers. High standards in all we do is a must for us and will continue with and for our future Workaway hosts. We are young at heart full of life and vitality and ready for the next adventure in our lives. Happy people . We are now in month 5 of Workaway’s and house sitting have met amazing people and been recommended by hosts to their friends it’s been busy and very rewarding.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in: 

    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Nigel - DIY Carpentry Gardening Mechanics , hosted a French Ski Chalet and Ski Guided in the Alps. Owned and operated a Paragliding Business in Greece. Dog training in Obedience and nervous dogs. As a young man I attended hotel and catering college for 2 years and qualified in all areas. This has served me well over the years in various ways. Worked on and maintained classic cars . A long successful career in project management has equipped me to tackle most things. Love to be active and I keep myself busy always.
    Denise - in love with Mosaics creating them for others, is a creative Cook and attended several terms of catering courses as a past time, love being outside, Veggie Gardener, Running a very busy household whilst a full time professional in Finance & Legals. Travel hosting Experience including hospitality and caring for guests in all areas of their stay, this completed both as a younger lady and also in the later part of my working life. I have a Passion for Art (dabble a little) and meeting people. Can turn my hand to most DIY projects with Nigel’s guidance, love being busy . Gained experience in several Pool filters and cleaning whilst on a Workaway.
    We keep our beautiful home to an excellent standard and work well as a team, using our skill sets to compliment each other’s.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    60 & 59

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Family - 3 grown children professionals in their own right and each in a stable relationship therefore allowing us to “Fly The Nest”
    Why do we want to do this - Because it’s time.
    We have no idea how our retirement is going to look, therefore we see Workaway as giving us the opportunity to look into other people’s lifestyles and opening our eyes to adventures, in beautiful surroundings preferably with our own private accommodation. We plan to rent out our beautiful home until 2021. March 2016- March 2017 saw us do just this whilst working and living in Malta with Nigel’s business in Recycling, then taking a 5 month travelling break before returning to our respective professional lives here in UK . I have now retired and Nigel is taking early retirement completing this late October.
    Exciting and interesting times to come for us.
    References are available and of course FaceTime to talk, share ideas and opportunities.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback