David

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I spent a year travelling in India, Sri Lanka and Uganda in 2017/18. The highlight of my trip was the two months I spent as a workaway volunteer! In September 2018, I left the UK on my bike and cycled to the south of Spain where I stayed until July 2019; 5 months with one Workaway host, one month with another, with some house-sitting and a little excursion to Morocco in-between. My bike is currently enjoying a rest with friends in Spain and I'm looking forward to being reunited with it later on in this current journey!
    This time, I am travelling in a bit more comfort, in a self-built campervan that I spent 3 months converting over the summer. I left the UK in September and spent a great month in Hungary and Austria, visiting friends and seeing new places. I'm travelling down the east coast of Spain, en route to some house-sitting near Malaga from the middle of December.
    I love travelling and enjoy meeting people and 'doing something'. For me it's a much better way to really see real life and is more interesting than just sightseeing. I didn't do any volunteering in India in 2017 and arrived in Sri Lanka determined to do more than just sightseeing and being a tourist. I needed to do something useful! I spent 2 months at a new project helping to develop tourism in a post-conflict area.
    I like rural areas much more than big cities - the kinds of place where people know and look out for each other. I think life is better when it's simple and not at the hectic, noisy pace of a city.
    I've had a varied working life - NGO management and development in both the UK and Uganda; I ran my own catering business (Meals on Wheels delivering hot meals to elderly people - more of a social service than a business!); did property renovation (decorating, basic electrics and plumbing, kitchen fitting etc) and am a qualified teacher of English as a foreign language. I guess I can now add campervan conversion skills to that list!
    I currently teach students online as I travel (which does mean I need to be somewhere with a decent mobile or WIFI signal) and I look for hosts who don't need volunteers to work at set times - so we can agree what hours I work when. I have a wide range of practical, administrative, management and teaching skills that I can offer.
    I'm easygoing, relaxed and flexible. I enjoy working and doing a good job and am open-minded. I enjoy doing things that make a positive difference to other people. I enjoy learning as much as I enjoy teaching.
    I don't smoke. I do eat meat and like a beer or glass of wine sometimes but I'm equally as happy eating vegetarian food and not drinking alcohol for weeks!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    NGO development and management
    Community development
    Qualified teacher of English as a foreign language
    Good practical skills for general building refurbishment and maintenance
    Good computer skills
    Catering skills
    Open-mindedness and willingness to learn

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    51

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I'm looking for volunteering opportunities with people who love what they are doing, whether that be running a school, a business, an eco project or an NGO, or just living their lives they way they want. A bit of passion for something goes a long way!
    I'm happy to do most things and keen to learn new skills as well as use the ones I already have.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback