David

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Brunei, Japan, Mongolia, Nepal, Philippines

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/01/2019 - 20/06/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! I'm David: a happy, active, strong and enthusiastic young man from Switzerland. I love learning new things such as activities, languages or cultures. And try to keep an open mind.

    I have a very healthy lifestyle and I know a bit about nutrition, and body-training. I don't eat fast food, nor do I smoke and I rarely drink alcohol. In autumn 2019 I will be going to University where I'll be studying chemistry.

    I really like being outdoors and I take part in lots of sports. I especially love football. (the real, not the American one ;) ) and I am also a registered referee, and trained a youth footballteam. I often go for a walk or a run with my dog in the woods. In the summer I like playing beach-volleyball. I enjoy going for a swim in the river and I also do mountain biking. In the winter I go skiing a lot. And since I was 5 years old, fishing has been my passion. On holidays I learned the basics of windsurfing, surfing and driving a boat. My favorite sport on the sea is Stand-Up-Paddeling. (SUP)"

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm keen on cooking and creating meals and also baking. (but I don't like doing the washing-up. ;) )
    On one of my previous Workaway placements I often cooked the evening meal for my Host.

    During my college time I taught almost every subject to people from first grade to high-school to earn myself an allowance. And on weekends I worked in a big restaurant near Bern. During the college vacations I worked as a landscape gardener in a very renowned company. In my football club I coached a junior-team for two years and I learned a lot about child care and how to encourage children to learn. 

    I have experience of farming and animals: I worked for a month on a farm with various animals and I have two German shepherd dogs and a cat at home.

    After the college I travelled on Workaway for half a year to Norway, Britain and New Caledonia . From January to October 2018 I was doing my national service: staying on beyond the normal 4 months national service for an extra 5 months voluntary service. This included my being in command of 40 people.
    Now I'm working as a primary school-teacher in Bern.

    I think it's true to say that I can be trusted and be of value: I've became a Trustee of the registered charity of one of my previous Workaway hosts.

  • Languages spoken

    German, Italian, English, French

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    Switzerland

  • What else ...

    I want to practise and learn languages and learn about new cultures and food.
    I am a certificated rescue swimmer and I have the OWD certification.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback