David

  • Colombia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home


    interested in sustainable living, farming, volunteering, language exchange, cooking, cultures, art, design, society and technology

  • Description

    Hi!

    Thanks for checking out my profile. A little bit about me is I was born in Bogota Colombia, grew up in Miami, now Californian native. I have a background in Cognitive Science, but currently working on transitioning into the design field world. One of the things I look forward to every year is getting to travel, whether it's internationally , locally, or couple states away I love to explore, different cultures, hearing different languages and meeting people who think differently from me. My intention with work-away is to explore alternative ways of living, learning as much as I can, and meeting and connecting with like minded people.
    One of my favorite things to do when I travel is connect with people through food and talking about all kinds of things. I hope to turn these experiences into insights I can use for the rest of my life. I can't wait to start my next adventure.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    A little bit about my background and skill set ranges from years of experience working in customer service jobs working in all types of positions in restaurants, customer service in retail setting including international hotels in Miami. In addition with my background I spent a lot of time in research studying human psychology, data analytics, and now an aspiring designer.
    Some soft skills I posses include great communication, respectful of boundaries, culturally sensitive (I understand that I may come from a culture that has different customs and ways of expression than others). super curious about things, a willingness to learn and push myself.

    What I hope I can bring to your place is teaching you Spanish, English as well as perhaps managing daily chores and if there is a chance perhaps manage social media, and put my web design skills to use.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    Would love to learn more french and or teach English and Spanish.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I love art and design and have a huge interest in photography. I also love to cook and share meals with close friends. Some things I am looking for out of this is experiencing different cultures sustainable living, growing food, music, and getting the chance to meet people from all around the world.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback