From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 31/03/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm 61, single, and live in South Central Montana. I own a landscaping business which keeps me busy and in shape during the summer. I've had my fill of Montana winters and am looking to share my knowledge and experience and absorb some of yours. When I moved to Montana from the East coast 30+ years ago, it was a life long dream come true. At the time it was paradise. I was young, learning to snowboard, so even the winters were heaven. I no longer hit the slopes and have little use for winter. My passion is gardening and growing my own food. I want chickens, goats, and maybe some pigs. It is nearly impossible to do this at 45° latitude and 6000' elevation. I do have a 2500 sq ft garden, but to get my livestock fix, as well as avoiding shoveling snow, I have taken to traveling in the winter. I have some construction experience having built my earth shelter home about 20 years ago. Although I'm not "off the grid" I embrace that concept wholeheartedly - my home is heated by wood and passive solar and my garden is virtually organic from which I harvest and can/freeze a good portion of my vegies. In addition to working outdoors, I love cooking, & travel. I also have experience in the food service industry - waiting tables and bar-tending. At this point in time (mid summer '18) I am "dog-less" having lost my farm friendly 14 yr old black lab this spring. I love the companionship and hope to eventually come across another to travel with, but not sure how training a new puppy will affect my visiting hosts with farms.

    Three winters ago I had my first experience with HelpX. I had traveled to Baja to meet a host, but he was no-show. I ended up traveling back to Oregon and worked on a goat farm (HelpX host 34342). It was a great experience! I learned about birthing, milking, and eating goats. Some of the work was very unglamorous - mucking out the stables, but helping baby goats into the world was worth every bit. I returned to that host again for a second winter. Two winters ago('16/17) I spent working with hosts in New Mexico and Arizona, (Workaway hosts 417943437283, & 929436649183, HelpX hosts 47338 & 50887) and had a wonderful time. I returned to the area last winter, spent 2 months in the Benson, AZ area (HelpX hosts 44131 & 34003). Also returned to a previous host in NM and a couple of hosts that are no longer listed.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Landscaping/irrigation, carpentry, plumbing, some electrical, cooking, gardening, animal care, some computer skills, chainsaw, some heavy machinery, bar-tending

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish - Beginner/Intermediate

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements