Dan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/02/2020 - 13/02/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Arriving in Melbourne mid-February for a year long adventure. Since spending a few days in the city in 2014 I've been compelled to return at some point. I am open to the whole of Australia but will be spending some time in Melbourne and Victoria at least initially.
    I like animals, conversation and new experiences. Travel has often helped me find all of these - long may this continue.
    I've been a zookeeper for the past 5 years in the UK which has been a true joy. Not only have I got time to spend with magnificent animals but also testing my mental and physical resolve in a truly demanding career.
    In 2014 I participated in Workaway projects in Malaysia and Indonesia completing DIY projects, maintenance, guesthouse duties and general help.

    My instagram is @dankemp if you want to have a snoop!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I've held a wide variety of roles in addition to being a zookeeper, including customer service roles, insurance agent, delivery driver, farm work and 18 months working as a prison officer. These roles have given me a range of skills including, but not limited to, the below:

    People
    -strong interpersonal skills built in environments including dealing with violent offenders in prison to zoo keeper experience days at a zoo
    -experience supervising large groups
    -work with tourists
    -completed service roles such as festivals, bars etc

    Gardening
    -grass strimming
    -sit on lawn mower
    -hedge cutter
    -pond maintenance/cleaning
    -leaf blowing

    Maintenance
    -basic tool usage
    -experience refurbishing animal enclosures
    -electric fence repairs
    -general handyman duties

    Vehicle experience
    -4x4
    -large vans
    -Tractor and trailer
    -forklift

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Brazil nuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan - happy to cook for myself and others!

Photos

Giving a public talk with tiger feed as a zookeeper
New York 2017
Working with Amir to do a VIP encounter for guests
2014 Workaway renovating properties at a bungalow resort in Bali, Indonesia
2014 Workaway at a eco-resort in the jungle just outside Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Feedback