Damian & Becky

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/08/2019 - 09/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi we are Damian and Becky 49 and 47 years old.
    We are fortunate to have had the oppourtunity to work hard for 25 years and are now enjoying some of the benefits.
    We have a house in the UK and a 18th century stone Barn with its own bread oven in Brittany (France).
    We spend most of our time between France and England and Tuscany with the occasional trip around Europe or Asia.
    During the last six years we have done seasonal work in the French Alps and Japan for the ski industry and during the summers we have worked in Wine making in the South of France and have finished our fourth summer with Tourism near Florence in Italy and are now working for tourism in Sicily until October, one of us can escape anytime now to help out but the other must stay on call.
    Our reasoning for being on the Work Away Programme was at first because we wanted to see what is expected by Hosts as we are registered Hosts.
    Then as time went on we enjoyed both sides of workaway, being Hosts and also Hosting.
    Doing both Hosting and helping has given us a great insight into all expectations of using workaway.
    We have enjoyed meeting other nationalities and experiencing their cultures whilst making good friends along the way.
    We have stayed with workaway hosts within France, Italy, Spain and Thailand and Japan
    We travel in our own car when in Europe.
    Our work background was - Damian: is a Mechanical Engineer with a very good knowledge of Gas and Electrics. I have licences for every category of Vehicle, Coach, Bus Truck car and Bike.
    As a Qualified Mechanic.
    If it moves I can drive or fix it.
    I have a good knowledge of Gas appliances and Plumbing.
    I have Skied for over 20 years and I am an advanced Skier, I have also raced Luge in Europe and Canada.
    We recently finished our 4th season as site liason for 28 mobile homes and attended to anything requested by our 28 familys a week, all aspects
    of tourism and repair. We did not cook in this role, phew.
    Becky's Background: I have worked in retail management for 12 years for busy sport and ski shops. I was responsible for staff management, sales, merchandising and retail exhibitions.
    I have experience in administration, working in recruitment, coordinating deliveries, stock control and travel agencies.
    I spent 8 years as a vocational trainer. This involved training and assessing candidates in retail, customer service, administration, managment and team leading.
    I have spent 4 winter seasons in the French Alps as a ski guide, chalet assistant, 2nd chef, administrator and airport representative and 1 season with a ski school in Japan. I love being in the mountains and I am an expert skier.
    I hold a full clean driving licence. I have over 20 years experience driving in winter conditions (snow & ice).
    We both love Diving and have our PADI Scuba Qualifications.
    We are very laid back chilled but professional people and have a work ethic that says ; If you can see something that needs doing, do it .
    We are very easy to get on with, we don't smoke and have never smoked, we do not take drugs, legal or otherwise. We do enjoy a glass of wine though!
    We have no racial or ethnic discrimination and neither have any dietary requests.
    We are working right now in Sicily in Full paid positions ( Proper work as we call it ). We can come visit you and help out just for the day or two if you have an urgent task and need a set of hands just get in touch.
    We are currently living near San Vito Lo Capo.
    Get in touch if you want help and good Company.
    Regards
    Damian and Becky.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Anything mechanical, electrical.
    General maintenace, light building work, basic house electrics, painting.
    Guest exchanges, property handovers and house keeping.
    Looking after animals and pets.
    Computer work.

  • Languages spoken

    English and petite pois French.

  • Age

    49 & 46

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Currently in San Vito Lo Capo
    Please feel free to email us. D@B

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback