Ryan

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey yall, heres a bit of my story: I graduated in 2011 from Rutgers University in Anthropology. I spent 7 years in Brooklyn, NY playing music and touring the US and some internationally. In BK I worked and managed an artist run moving company, worked on movie sets, construction sites and in bars. I have also traveled to about 15 other countries, sometimes spending months. I put my stuff in storage in 2018 and started traveling full time. When I was younger I studied yoga and meditation deeply and still enjoy practicing.

    Since 2018 I've worked a summer in Alaska (cleaning rooms, serving guests in restaurant, doing landscaping/handy work around property) bought a motorcycle and rode to northern California and worked on farms, traveled Asia for 6 months, worked coast to coast in USA and used my motorcycle to cross the country 4 more times. I volunteered on a farm in Japan building a rock wall, a BnB in Taiwan cleaning rooms, taught english for 2 weeks through couchsurfing in Vietnam. My girlfriend and I stayed in a house on the Deleware river in NY for a year sept 2020-2021, and now I'm back on the bike and traveling again. I just spent 2 weeks at Snaggy Mountain, a "sustainable homestead that's focused around music, food, and hosting artists". I've continued growing my knowledge of wild and cultivated plants from the amazing host Jared, built some pretty rock walls for his garden and played music with great artists.

    I enjoy living communally and am very conscious of keeping things clean so the spaces work. I generally like quiet nights and some personal space for sleeping, but can enjoy different sytles of group living at times.

    I am on workaway to learn more about plants and building, different ways of life and different mind sets. Looking forward to meeting and learning from each other !

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Performing arts
    Writing
    Music
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Music/art, General labor outdoor/indoor, apprentice level carpentry/construction, bar tending, farming, hotel cleaning, teaching, experienced traveler

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Would love to learn conversational Spanish. Interested in starting to learn any language avaialble.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback