Colin

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/10/2018 - 31/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    428

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Dear reader,
    My name is Colin van Dijk, I'm a 24 year old male student from the Netherlands (Holland) with a huge passion for traveling and exploring. I recently finished my bachelors in chemistry and history during which I have experienced a lot of travel around the world. While studying I have spend most of my course abroad during exchange years.

    I have lived in New Zealand for a year during one of these exchanges, here I have experienced so many great things about traveling and met countless of amazing people. My second year I spend in Finland, working at the university of Helsinki where I was involved in research publications. Any free time I had during my years abroad I of course spend on meeting new people and exploring. Every weekend I'd gather a group of friends or colleagues for a road trip, we would rent a car and travel around for the entire weekend, trying to see a much as we could, which was amazing!

    I've already had a great experience with Workaway too traveling through the Middle-East and Canada. For over two months I volunteered at places all over Israel and Palestine, I hitchhiked and Workaway'ed my way all through the country. Never before have I met such amazing people and gotten into culture so thoroughly! My second Workaway journey I hitchhiked through Canada from east coast to west coast for an entire year. During this travel I volunteered at numerous Workaway places, met countless people and experienced the most amazing adventures that changed my life!

    My time abroad has given me a great amount of experience and an inside look into traveling. During my travels I have made so many friends and exchanged a lot of amazing culture with them. Backpacking was of course also a big part of these experiences, I have spend countless nights in hostels and at backpackers that I have gotten quite used to living in a confined space with a lot of people. I love getting to know new people and learn everything about their culture and their country, which to me is the most beautiful thing about traveling, meeting people! I hope workaway will put me in touch with numerous possibilities to discover new places and create awesome friendships. Voluntary work also seems like a great way to explore local culture through living and working together to get a full in depth experience.

    I hope this short summary of me has given you a good inside about me, my passions for travel and how eager I am to explore culture. If you have any questions about me please don't hesitate to ask them.
    Colin. :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can provide voluntary help in almost any way possible, from physical labor such as construction, chainsawing, carpentry and farming to anything social like welcoming guests or behind a reception in a hostel. I also love exchanging culture and sharing stories from my travels and learning about other peoples experiences.
    Outside of my skills I spend most of my free time on my hobbies. I love outside activities like; jogging, hiking through nature and swimming. Languages are also a great hobby and passion of mine, which I always try to incorporate with my travels. Playing the guitar is also one of the things I like to do when I have some spare time, which I of course would love to share with someone.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    Due to my experience in traveling I am very easy to live with in areas like; food, personal space, sleep and socially. I eat pretty much anything and I love to explore new dishes and local food, I am also used to living in confined places with people, so a small personal space is not uncommon to me at all.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

A nice breakfast in beautiful Northland, New Zealand
Mount Taranaki road trip, New Zealand
Road trip to the Putangirua Pinnacles, New Zealand
Volunteering at Citadel Youth Hostel in Jerusalem was awesome!
Mango orchard at the Sea of Galilee... man I miss those mangoes...
Building loam houses at Desert Shade Lodge in Mitzpe Ramon, the oasis in the desert.

Feedback