Colin

  • Australia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm a 25 year old from Newcastle, Australia with a degree in electrical engineering. I've been away from home since September 2019. Covid caused me to start living on sailboats and learning to sail, allowing me to explore much of the caribbean on the water!! I've been in Colombia since December 2020 (with a few small sails) mostly on the Caribbean Coast.

    I'm currently travelling through all of Colombia on a motorbike!

    I'm using workaway to travel because I don't think rushing through places gives you any idea of what they're like, I really want to immerse myself in the places that I go and get some proper influence back from the people that I meet. I like helping people and living the way that they live - hopefully that means trying new things.

    I love camping, rock-climbing and outdoor things and I consider myself to be a bit of an amateur landscape photographer. My previous workaways have seen me as a carpenter and a motorbike tourguide/mechanic. I play the guitar and really like trying to learn new instruments. I definitely like seeing the different side of things.

    My degree and past jobs in Australia have made me good with technology and computers, so I can help with anything in that area, though I want to use workaway to gain as many new skills as possible - especially around gardening, construction and hands-on maintenance. I've done workaways on farms that involve a lot of repair and physical labour and have no problem getting dirty or into the thick of it to get something done

    I speak intermediate/advanced level spanish and I'm always trying to learn as much there as I can.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I really like to fix and build things and work with my hands, and really dont mind if that involves getting dirty!!! My last professional job at home was as an electrical engineer.
    That job involved independently designing and building things from scratch, so I have a fair bit of experience with tools and general craftmanship, and would love the opportunity to improve this further. My job also heavily involved working with electricity and electronics.
    I love fixing things big and small, woodworking, and general maintenance I have ridden motorbikes for many years and have good knowledge on maintenance of motorbikes and cars.
    Most recently I spent 6 months at a remote finca near Buritaca, Colombia working as their carpenter/handiman. For this I built interior furniture with a variety of electric tools, installef electrics, maintained vehicles/generator, did landscaping/gardening and some concrete and clay construction. I was working somewhat autonomously in that project.
    I also have a decent camera and am capable of doing photography for specific purposes.
    Previous workaways have involved sailing and repairing sailboats, farming/gardening at a cocoa farm, language exchange, and repairing motorbikes and guiding moto tours for a tourist agency.
    I am a native english speaker and learning spanish at an intermediate/advanced level and am more than happy to help with language exchange.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian preferred but flexible

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback