Carlos

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Czech Republic, Italy, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/03/2019 - 05/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    549

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I went to college to study computer sciences and I started to work as a programmer. 6 years later I started to feel meaningless and took a leave of absence. I did volunteer work in organic farms in Sweden and France and went to Thailand to teach English in a public school in a small village. I came back to give a second chance to my job but after 3 years I decided to quit for good. Already with some land in the countryside of Portugal I started a journey in Portugal for one year to know about eco-farming and permaculture. It was hard to settle down in my primitive place so I went back to Thailand to the same school wishing to help those children in their English and football skills. Last year I came to establish and develop my land. I planted some trees, made some vegetable patches, produced cider, wine, olive oil, jams, I dried figs, tomatos and apples, etc.. It was a year of a lot of learning but my heart is asking for more adventures and discoveries. I feel like travelling again this year to know new countries and do different things. I like new challenges, to learn and get inspired by the people I meet and of course, to give it back. I'm a quiet person but I really enjoy to use my human qualities in a group.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have computers skills at the level of programming. I have experience in teaching English and football. And I gained some practical experience of how to live in a farm and try to do things by myself as plumbing, woodwork, electricity some building and gardening. I have some knowlegde about permaculture. I already vounteered in about 15 different projects and I returnd to some of them. In a more relaxed way, I can play drums and scribble something.

  • Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English, some bits of Spanish, French and Thai

  • Age

    41

  • Nationality

    Portuguese

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Never keep an egg in your pocket

Feedback