Erin

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/09/2019 - 01/10/2023

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello there! I am an environmental engineer that has 14 years work experience in the oil refinery and oil&gas industry as an air quality compliance specialist, working with computers and in processing units. I'm especially nerdy with MS Excel and have hosted a lot of training using MS Powerpoint when needed. I was a licensed P.E. and have previously managed staff as well.

    About 10 years ago, I agreed to help my best friend with her publishing project and consequently became familiar with book editing and layout in MS Word as well as tax reporting for a small business in the US that never seemed to make money. I also published a book of poetry! During this time, I traveled a lot, planned a lot, moved several times, and edited children's books for a friend of mine. I also became a certified yoga instructor.

    About two years ago, I left my career behind to be an environmental Peace Corps Volunteer in the Philippines. I worked on environmental education in the local schools and generally tried to convince anyone who would listen to make less non-biodegradable trash and start composting. I also worked closely with an organic farm near where I lived on various projects, including establishing a tilapia fish pond, constructing a seed nursery, and learning about mushroom production and creation of saleable mushroom products. I learned about seed saving, the importance of heirloom varieties, and the need for resiliency in the face of a changing climate.

    My two years in the Philippines inspired me to continuing learning more, especially in the realm of agriculture, and I would like to use this workaway experience to enable that learning process. So far, I've worked at a Buddhist retreat center, an olive/cherry farm, a yoga retreat center, a goat dairy farm, a wilderness/adventure lodge, and sold honey/bee-related products through this site. I'm looking forward to meeting you and trading skills!

    PS I grew up on commercial construction sites, as I was raised by a busy dad, so I'm comfortable with tools and construction but not especially skilled.

    I've also been around dogs and/or had my own dog responsibility from childhood until moving to the Philippines. Now that I've made it back home, I'm loving the dog companionship!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    MS Office
    Planning and Organization of Data
    Writing
    Editing
    Dogsitter
    Environmental Education/Training
    Baking
    Cooking
    Googling

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Tagalog: Beginner

  • Age

    39

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian/Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback