Kate

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 01/07/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Kate and I just graduated this year with a degree in Environmental Studies from the University of Kansas. These past few years I have had the wonderful opportunity to work with an ethnobotanist and prairie ecologist at the Kansas Biological Survey on various projects. When it comes to dealing with plants and fieldwork I'm your gal. I recently finished completing design certification for Permaculture and would love to gain more hands-on experience with any eco-projects and permaculture farms.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    In my spare time I like to run, bake, cook, and create artwork using a variety of media. I really love learning new skills and have overtime picked up several arts including glassblowing, pottery throwing, jewelry, darkroom photography, drawing, painting, watercolor, and more. I am also skilled in plant identification. I have worked at a native medicinal plant garden and have grown my own food in a garden during the summer and fall in college.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I volunteered in the tropics and botany department at a zoo for a summer and thoroughly enjoyed prepping meals for all the various birds, helping feed the Indian flying fox bats, setting up enrichment stations, and prepping, maintaining, and watering garden beds.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback