Christian

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Montenegro ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 15/12/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    865

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hi there!

    I'm 22 years old and have just finished my 3rd year of uni. I studied Ancient History at the University of Liverpool, so my interests include history, philosophy and European culture. On top of this I have much love for music and games (board games, video games, card games or any type of game!).

    I think I'm quite easy going and always up for a laugh. I currently live in a small town called Abingdon, South of Oxford with my parents and dog. I usually spend my time with friends as much as possible, or I'm at home on my computer, walking my dog or spending time with family. I'm in love with travelling, and especially learning about and living within a different culture.

    My favourite sport is football, but I enjoy many other sports like rugby or table tennis etc. I'm a keen learner of languages, at school I studied French, Latin and Ancient Greek for many years, and I would love to use my language skills to teach others my mother tongue.

    I have done 3 Workaways so far, and absolutely loved every single one of them. My last one was with my friend and old flatmate Craig, and hopefully I will be able to do more with him in the future.

    My Workaway experience:
    - Cottage Manager in Can Llouquette Gîtes, French Pyrenees. My main task was ensuring a perfect experience for guests who rented cottages, being a guide, cleaning and tidying each cottage, and entertaining their children. This also involved lots of odd jobs such as painting, animal care, pool maintenance, weeding, strimming, manual labour, and being a concierge.

    - Farming in Tomasetti Farm, Italy. The focus was on caring for and harvesting fruit and cauliflowers – planting them, weeding, and watering them. As well as this I offered language tutoring, plastering, painting, cooking, repair work and animal care.

    - Sustainable Eco-Living at Rainbow Cottages, France. I worked for an older woman who lived independently on a farm in rural Brittany. Work ranged from cooking and cleaning, taking care of her livestock, gardening, painting, upcycling, and sustainable, self-sufficient living.

    I studied French up to when I was 16, and I plan to relearn it all again and hopefully be somewhat fluent!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Computer / IT skills
    Strong enough for most manual labour
    Hard working
    Good with kids (teaching and organising games / activities)
    Creative
    I have lots of Workaway experience painting and gardening
    Willingness to learn any craft!
    Have taught English before
    Have cared for animals before
    Customer service experience
    Can work all day outside, rain or shine!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    British (& half American)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Feedback