Alex

  • Spain
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    Interested in community living, located in Spain

    My next destination:

    Spain
    View all
  • Description

    I'm currently making small steps towards a vision of community living. Some of this steps include volunteering in different projects such as ecovillages, but also learning about different tools that can be useful for community living such as nonviolent communication, systems of governance, conflict resolution, ecofeminism, and also skills such as cooking for large groups of people, preserving food, woodworking, gardening, animal care, and building renovation works.

    I look forward to keep meeting projects and people to have a more clear understanding of how I want to live, keep learning about the things necessary to live in such way, and do so while I contribute to other people's quality of life and my own.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Yoga / Wellness
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Videography
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Art Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Experience in:
    - Gardening, I've studied a 550h course of organic farming with hands on experience. I've started a small vegetable of my own, and help maintained some on the projects I've been to.

    - Tending animals such as chicken, goats, rabbits and sheep. Also making cheese from the goat and sheep milk.

    - Natural building and woodworking, I've spent time working in a project in Barcelona called BioArquitectura Mediterránea, where a group of young people is building the headquarters of the organization with natural materials. Also I've spent a few months in a project in Slovakia where I've worked with a professional carpenter making the roof of a well. I've also taken part in a few workshops working with strawbales and plastering to build walls.

    - I've spent about 8 months in total volunteering in different community and ecovillage projects, learning about facilitation, non violent communication, sociocracy and other topics related with human relationships.

    - Cooking for large groups of people. While on volunteering I've been cooking for around 10 people regularly.

    - I've studied a university degree in industrial engineering, and I have a introductory level understanding of different areas such as physics, chemistry, economics, programming, calculus, technical drawing, etc

    - I've worked as an engineer in a quality control company

    - How to start and operate a cooperative business, I had a 3 month practical training where as a group of young people we created a cooperative business and managed it while participating in a few events throughout the city of Barcelona

    - I play diverse instruments such as guitar, piano and drums, and learned to dance Lindy hop

    - I speak a bit of many languages such as French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese and Slovak as I've worked for a long time in tourism

    - I know how to use Photoshop, Canva, Excel, a bit Premiere Pro and AfterEffects

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback