Charles

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Super Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home

  • Description

    Hola, soy Charlie! Soy estadounidense de Portland, Oregón.
    Actualmente trabajo en Oregon. Quiero viajar a Puerto Rico en enero y febrero. Trabajo por una programa gubernamental que da préstamos a pequeñas empresas. Antes de la pandemia hice voluntariado en Benin, África oeste como profesor de inglés durante nueve meses.
    He estudiado periodismo y literatura en la universidad. En los EEUU trabajaba como camarero y bartender en restaurantes, trabajaba en un supermercado y un almacén. Estoy acostumbrado al trabajo físico y al servicio al cliente. Yo usé Workaway para viajar y trabajar en América Latina en 2018. Trabajé en hostels en la recepción, hice el turno nocturno e hice la limpieza. También trabajé en un hotel en Brasil en donde hice la limpieza y cuide al niño de los dueños.
    Entiendo español y puedo leerlo. Puedo hablar y escribir también. Hace tiempo que no he hablado diariamente pero creo que después de algunos días en Puerto Rico yo recuperare mi fluencia. Hablo un poco de francés también que aprendí en Benin.
    A mi me encanta hacer nuevos amigos y vivir en un ambiente cooperativo. Soy respetuoso de la privacidad. Me gusta leer, cocinar y hacer jogging.
    Yo creo en Covid-19. Hago una cuarentena. Trabajo en casa y no salgo sino a hacer las compras. En diciembre voy a vivir con mis abuelos que tienen noventa años así estaré viviendo aún más cuidadosamente.


    Hello! My name is Charlie! I'm an estadounidense from the state of Oregon.
    I am currently living in Oregon and I plan to spend January and February visiting Puerto Rico.
    I ‘ve been working full time + overtime from home since June but my contract is coming to an end. I work for a government program that offers loans to small businesses. Before Covid-19 I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Benin, West Africa. I worked there as an English teacher for nine months before the program was cancelled in March due to Covid-19.
    I studied Journalism and Spanish Literature at the University of Oregon. I've worked in restaurants, grocery stores and a warehouse. I'm a hard worker who is used to working with customers and doing physical labor. I traveled South America and used Workaway as I traveled around for 7 months in 2018. I worked in hostels at reception and a cleaner. I also worked in a luxury vacation rental property in Brazil cleaning and babysitting.
    I can read and understand Spanish and I can speak and write, although I am a bit rusty. I’m hoping within a couple of days in Puerto Rico I’ll be back to a high level of fluency. I also speak a small amount of French that I learned in Benin.
    I really love meeting new people and living with other people. I’m respectful of others’ spaces and privacy. I love to cook, read, and stay active. I’ll explore by going on long walks and once, I’ve found a good route, I love to jog.
    I take Covid-19 very seriously. I’ve been lucky enough to work from a home in a state that has had a low case-count relative to the rest of the US. I keep my circle small and really only go to the grocery store. The month of December I will be in Florida with my 90 year old grandparents so I will be even more cautious.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    Customer service
    Manual labor
    Waiter
    Dishwasher
    Cook

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Estadounidense / United States

  • What else ...

    At university I spent time with international students from China and Japan helping them improve their English. I would like to do a language exchange with a Spanish/English or French/English speaker to help them improve their English and to improve my Spanish or French.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback