Christine

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/04/2015 - 16/08/2015

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Christina Massey. I am the mother of 4 incredibly talented adult (?) children and 3 grandchildren. I have taken off 3 years from my job as a Montessori teacher in the public schools of Dallas Texas so that I can experience other ways of living. I gave away 98% of my stuff and rented out my house.Since August 2012 , I have been to Costa Rica, Belize and Mexico through Workaway . I traveled with High School girls in Europe and when they returned to the States, I did Workaway in Amsterdam, Germany, Switzerland and France for 11 weeks/ It has been beyond my expectations! Also other work exchanges in Japan, Thailand , South Korea and last year in Peru! Each place where I have been I have been able to become involved in the community. I have been willing to let this adventure unfold in the most marvelous ways . I went to Egypt with my sister , my son and 12 other students right after the Spring Revolution. I hiked across the Grand Canyon with Project Athena in September of 2011. Spent 30 days on the Camino de Santiago and hiked 100 miles on trails on Jeju Island. I enjoy spending time with children especially in nature. I ran an afterschool program in my home and volunteered with Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts.Through the years I have done many many house repairs, from roofing to painting ( far from an expert- great at destruction and tear downs- super at painting). I have been doing Reiki for 10 yrs. I am a Registered Yoga Teacher and teach Yoga for Kids. I recently finished becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist. I have always enjoyed gardening and volunteer with our neighborhood group. I am willing to work very hard and look forward to learning new skills and .I especially enjoy clearing out and organizing " junk" rooms. I get a kick out of helping people find solutions to problems or helping them reach a goal.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Reiki, yoga, Tai Chi, tutoring, being with Children, drama, crafts, house painting, gardening ( love weeding) window washing / all types of cleaning, organizing "stuff" sewing, crochet, working well with other people.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    US citizen

  • What else ...

    Now I am looking for opportunities in the United States. This country has so much to offer.I look forward to hearing from you even if I am not able to work with you. I enjoy reading about all of the different hosts around the world who are opening their hearts and homes to strangers. You are doing a marvelous thing!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback