Crystal

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Japan, Romania, Turkey, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/03/2018 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    I am an American and a TEFL certified English teacher. I currently teach only online, which allows me to travel and still earn a living. I love exploring new places and learning about other cultures. Especially the food! However, I do not eat meat or poultry, which can limit the things I try sometimes. I recently started eating fish again, after 20 years as a vegetarian, because of the amazing seafood available in Turkey. I studied History in college, so naturally I love to see the historical places and things everywhere as well.

    I have previously worked in publication as an Editorial Intern, an Animal Caretaker at a wildlife sanctuary, ran my own small home child care center, and worked in the medical industry as something like a nurses' aid. So my skill set is varied and vast!

    I am an extreme animal lover, who loves ALL animals, and I have two adorable cats WHO TRAVEL WITH ME.
    ~Yes, I actually TRAVEL WITH MY 2 CATS, they HAVE TO go everywhere with me. They are now "international cats" and even have their own passports from 2 different countries...dual CATizinship I guess ! :)
    Both are very well behaved. One cat, Buckles (AKA Mr Buckles Le Chat) is a Maine Coon (large and very friendly breed of cat) and everyone who meets him falls in love with him. And HE loves EVERYONE. My other cat, Lucky, is a little more shy and takes a little time to trust people. He is still a very sweet cat though.

    I love being outdoors in nature whenever I can. I love camping and hiking in the woods. My family has always gone camping since I was a child, we still do, and we often go hiking for the day in the summer and fall. I also like to be in the water, though I'm not the best swimmer. And, while I may not love working in extreme cold and heat, I HAVE often worked outside in both the winter and summer in Wisconsin.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I love to learn new skills and I'm willing to try most things, but I am especially good at anything with animals or children, anything creative, and teaching things. Especially teaching English! I am very good with children. I ran my own small home childcare center for a while. I also have 2 younger brothers who I took care of a lot when they were young, and many younger cousins.

    I worked for over 3 years in a wildlife sanctuary. Bay Beach Wildlife Sanctuary, in Green Bay, WI. I helped train new student employees, and many teenage volunteers. I also helped a lot with educating visitors about the animals at the sanctuary. Though my main job was taking care of many different animals (Owls, hawks, eagles, badgers, snakes, foxes, wolves, and more!) that were sometimes dangerous... but always interesting!

    I am a very creative person as well, though I do not have any real artistic ability that I know of. I love to draw, paint, and sometimes do crafts and make things. I can often come up with creative ideas for children. I also make many of my own skin and personal care items from natural ingredients. And I like to cook and make up new recipes.

    I also have a little experience in building and fixing things. I used to help my father with building furniture and assembling bicycles. I like to put together and build things, and I can do some minor household repairs...as long as they don't involve electrical, because I'm very scared of getting electrocuted... I am also afraid of using loud power tools, especially saws.

    I do not currently have a vehicle, but I have a regular driver's license, and a pretty good driving record (I got 1 speeding ticket ever, about 10 years ago). I also have an international driver permit which allows me to drive in many countries. And I can provide a proof of a background check, done by the state of Wisconsin, showing I have no criminal history (I had this done for teaching internationally).

  • Languages spoken

    I am a native English speaker. I understand a little Spanish and Italian (I would REALLY like to learn more!)

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Here is the link for the video I made, talking about myself, and my experience and skills, that was too big to put in the video section on my profile.
    https://youtu.be/z4PxmMqBj3I

    Any questions...please feel free to ask! :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Some medicines

    • Special dietary requirements
      I do not eat meat or poultry, only fish occasionally.

Photos

Feedback