Christina

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    In March, I was covering Woodstock and Saugerties NY for a weekly small-town newspaper that met its end at the hand of the coronavirus; paid advertisements for events and businesses came to an abrupt halt, as did the money that financed the publication.

    I moved to Atlanta to "quaranteam" with my best friend, where I spent much of my time camping and immersing myself in Georgia and surrounding states.

    I found a remote reporting job after about four months of rigorous applications, but still have the travel bug, and have developed a taste for rural life. I feel most fulfilled when I am learning new things and engaging with new people and in physical tasks in between bursts of sedentary desk work--I don't think I can ever work from a cubicle, and I am thrilled that I can travel while I work with this remote job.

    I would love to apply my extra time, up to five hours per day, to your farm, nonprofit or home. Hopefully, we can teach each other something.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Technology
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
  • More details about your skills

    I would love to learn a new skill set at a workaway--perhaps about permaculture, farming, new cultures or fine art. I'm absolutely willing to lend my strength/time to tasks that I'm unfamiliar with.
    Skills that I already possess include storytelling, comedic timing, writing (creatively, for newsprint, for business websites and for materials for distribution), editing, speaking in fairly proficient Spanish, managing social media/website content and working with children between the ages of five and fourteen (I spent four summers as a camp counselor, watching groups of five to eighteen children at once and have always had a knack for connecting with kids).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    Journalism is my passion, and despite the hit that the industry has taken amidst the coronavirus, we need journalists now more than ever. This position is a stepping stone, and I would appreciate any input on my career/direction from anyone--as required in my field, I am an excellent listener and have a knack for asking the right questions. I am also studying grant writing and taking a self-paced course in stenography.

    I am currently re-finding both my poetic and singing voices (I'm an alto :))

    I love music, particularly the Grateful Dead--my father followed the Dead for quite some time, and after hearing their jams in the womb and later blaring in all my childhood memories, they bring me home. When I get confused, I listen to the music play.

    I am blessed to have an albino, blind, very tame guinea pig named Lupita who loves grazing in the grass and on wildflowers and dandelions (oftentimes she'll come when you call her!) She's very good for composting--loves most vegetable parts that people don't generally use, like carrot and turnip tops, fruit & vegetable stems and fruits and veggies that are a little too old/brown to be appealing for people.


    I'm something of a goblin--I love weeds and wildflowers, catching and releasing bugs and small animals, birdwatching and looking for nature's footnotes. I especially love swimming in lakes, streams or any natural body of water.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I am selectively lactose intolerant; I avoid milk, but can't help myself around cheese (please, hide the cheese...)

    • Special dietary requirements
      I will only drink milk substitutes (oat milk is my favorite)

Feedback

Friends

Feedback