Callie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/02/2018 - 18/02/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello,
    I am a current PhD student at the University of Cambridge and am currently looking for a ~ 4 week (possibly 5) Work-away stay for a change of scenery while I do some writing. I am from the U.S. and live a very different lifestyle than the one that I’ve had in Cambridge – namely, working on ranches, days being filled by more physical tasks than desk time, animals wherever one looks, etc. That being said, I’m hoping to find a place to settle into for a few weeks and to get back to doing the things I love: waking up with the sun to do chores and care for animals and being more active in general. Ideally, I’d be able to put my work aside entirely for those couple of weeks but am afraid that I’m in the midst of a writing up stage that won’t allow that. So, I’m hoping to make the best of both worlds by getting a good animal/outdoor work fix while balancing that with some writing in the sun.
    I do want to mention that I have worked on several ranches or in hospitality settings where work-awayers were part of the team. While many were great, I do understand hosts’ potential concerns that can arise when a work-awayer has a different understanding of what they are responsible for in order to earn room and board. I simply want to emphasize that I have been witness to some of those situations and because I believe in the wonderful value of exchanges like Work-away, that I am not looking for a mere holiday getaway. More than anything, I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to get back to the kind of work that I love so that I can try and do a justice to my writing while getting to know interesting people and practicing some Spanish. At the very least, I can promise that I am truly a hard and invested worker!
    Rather than listing my skills and work experience here, I think that it would be more useful for a potential host if I send them my CV? Hopefully it will sufficiently speak to my love for animals and good work ethic!
    Also, I’m hoping to connect with a host I could work with during the UK’s other holiday breaks in the coming years. The UK gets awful dreary in the winter and would love to try and find a “second base” to work!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Natural horsemanship training, starting horses, odds and ends skills acquired from years spent working on ranches and in the adventure tourist industry. Done everything from working in a 160-dog competitive mushing kennel in Alaska to working on cattle stations in Australia with 20,000 animals and loads in between. Depending on host needs, I'm happy to tell you more about my background!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    32

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian preferred

Feedback