Catherine

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cuba, Italy, Malta, Morocco, Panama, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Sweden, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2019 - 01/03/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Cat. I was born in Upstate New York, near Buffalo. After graduating from college, I moved to Santa Cruz, California and lived there for 23 years. I now reside near the Outer Banks of North Carolina.

    I like to do carpentry and painting, and I can fix many types of mechanical things. I spent three years working as a steward of a large church facility. I also worked as a handy-person for a property management company; on a project basis for a general contractor (building decks, fences, remodeling homes); and as an interior house painter. I have worked as a mechanic on motorcycles and antique cars.

    In 2016, I spent six months abroad, staying in Thailand, Cambodia and Greece. In SE Asia, I welded and built various things out of cinder blocks. In Greece, I helped restore a 200-year old farmhouse and create an airbnb. This was a great experience, and I would love to do more work-exchanges like it. I love history and historic properties and enjoy reviving them.

    In addition to experience building, painting and making repairs, I have done many other jobs. I started my career working in restaurants: preparing food, cooking, serving food, bar-tending, offering customer service and hospitality, catering and working at banquets. I have worked with disabled persons, in graphic design and had a career as a Real Estate Broker for ten years.

    I love to learn and challenge myself beyond my comfort zone. I have completed a 160-hour TESOL/TEFL course in hopes of finding a teaching or tutoring position abroad.

    In my spare time, I travel. I have been to 23 countries and all 50 US states. I also enjoy being outdoors: camping, surfing, riding motorcycles, wake boarding and hiking. My hobbies include: writing, reading, learning languages, refinishing furniture and cooking.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a very quick learner with lots of energy and a positive attitude. Carpentry, fixing things, restoration, light electrical and plumbing, welding, cooking, hospitality, helping with tourists and rentals, gardening, interior and exterior house painting, landscaping, house keeping, project management, organization, errands, problem solving and writing. I enjoy challenging work. English lessons, translations: TESOL/TEFL certified.

  • Languages spoken

    English. 8 yrs French. A little Spanish, Greek, Italian and Russian

  • Age

    50

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian + fish

Photos

Feedback