João Pedro & Caroline

  • Brazil
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently


    Our next destination:

    England, United Kingdom - from Oct 2022 until May 2023
    View all
  • Description

    We've been traveling since June 2022, we've been to Austria, Italy and England for Workaway. During these months we got to learn gardening, permaculture, how to plant potatoes, weeding, cutting grass and how to compost; we did a one week wild forest camping with children; we learned how to paint a house; we picked fruits and learned how to store and dry them for the winter; we lived with exotic animals and learned how to take care of farm animals and horses (cleaning and feeding mostly); we learned how to clean and make up b&b's and we have experience with guests.
    We want to stay in the UK until the end of the year (2022) and maybe go to Asia next year (especially Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Malaysia, Japan, China and South Korea).

    Hi! We are Carol & João, a brazilian couple in search of a life-changing adventure 😊.
    We’re 26 and 25 years old respectively, and have been together for 6 years (for the last 4 living together). We’re looking for a volunteering opportunity that allows us to grow as individuals and also as means to contribute to our planet in some way. This year has been really challenging so far and with all that’s going on in the world and in our country, we’ve decided that now is the time for us to radically change our lives.
    João used to work as a hotel receptionist and Carol as a laboratory technician making vaccines at Fiocruz. We were feeling disconnected from our life goals, which are to live a life immersed in nature and with a purpose: to leave a positive legacy for mankind so we have opted to leave our current life behind and, through Workaway, take the opportunity to visit new places and meet people with similar goals as ours, that share some of our own philosophy, so that we may create real and lasting connections.
    We are young and tireless, workers at heart; so we’re up to any task that may come up. Carol comes from a big family in which she’s the oldest granddaughter, so she has extensive experience in taking care of babies and children, in addition to really enjoying doing so and being able to easily form connections. We both also love animals and really enjoy taking care of them, it will be a pleasure to tend to yours.
    We tend to be very patient, calm and easy to deal with. We really value keeping good relations with others and are rarely indisposed. We have a good sense of humor and enjoy long conversations on the most diverse of topics. Our biggest interests are: João - Philosophy, politics, history, music and science; Carol - Psychology, gastronomy, parenting, art, pop music and TV-shows haha.
    We love to try new things so it will be a huge pleasure to try your food, listen to your music and watch your favourite movies. We also really enjoy cooking so you can count on us for some delicious Brazilian food :). We’re open to live a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle so, if that’s your option, we have no problem with it at all.
    We speak Portuguese as a native language and João speaks native-level fluent English, fluent Spanish and intermediate German (B1); Carol speaks fluent English and intermediate Spanish. We love learning new languages and find it really easy to communicate, so we’re excited to learn your language and teach you ours :).
    We’re excited to live this family adventure! We want to form deep connections and find our little place in the world, so we’ll work hard to have an amazing and lasting experience.

  • Interests

    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    João - I have, in the past, worked as an instrumental English teacher for doctorate program students; interested in learning German, Greek, Dutch and Swedish. Carol - Interested in learning new languages (mainly Asian languages - Thai, Japanese, Korean and Mandarin) and practicing English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Carol - Biotechnology technician and current psychology student; enjoys taking care of plants; can cook some great Brazilian food and different kinds of pasta; enjoys taking care of children and animals; great at planning and organizing activities; strong spreadsheet management skills; loves to drawn and to read; shower singer and living room dancer.
    João - Handy with mechanical and electronic devices; enjoys driving and working on cars; big aviation enthusiast; wants to learn about farming and all the work that goes into it. Knowledgeable on hardware and software; strong typing skills; able to easily learn and develop new abilities; good attention to detail and ability to recognize patterns; able to teach English, translate documents and proofread articles. Also enjoys cooking different kinds of food, mostly Chinese and Italian. Has taken an EMT course. Training to be a web developer.

  • Age

    25 & 27

  • What else ...

    We're interested in Buddhist meditation, yoga, outdoor activities (climbing, hiking, skiing and camping) dancing, cooking, learning new instruments, drawing, painting, video games, reading, board games, telling jokes and mocking one another, horseback riding and picking fruit. We're also breakfast enthusiasts.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements