carlanicholson

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/11/2018 - 20/02/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My first workaway experience was as a toddler with my family and i guess with travel crazy parents it was inevitable I would catch the travel bug. Since spending 6 months workawaying as a family throughout Europe in highschool, it has become my favourite way to travel.
    As a veterinary student at university with another 4 years of study, I try to escape at every opportunity to travel. I am easygoing and down to earth, looking to immerse in different cultures, gain new experiences and skills.
    I am certainly not afraid to get my hands dirty, and particularly love the outdoors, working with children, teaching, cooking and animals. In my spare time betwen my studies I love art projects, sustainability, yoga, music and horse riding.
    From my previous experiences volunteering and workawaying in Australia, Europe, Nepal and India, I am aware of the expectations, workload and above all amazing and enriching experience it can bring!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    As a Vet in progress, I have experience working with both domestic and farm animals. I have completed multiple placements on production farms, turtle rescue centres, elephant rehabilitation centres and vet clinics.
    I have extensive experience working as a waitress and bartender in cafes, restaurants and festivals.

    I also have experience working with children, nannying children from ages 2- 14, teaching english to primary school students at an international english school in Nepal for 3 months. This included making lesson plans, taking English, maths and science classes of up to 30 students.

    I have an international driving license, first aid certificate, Gold duke of edinborough award, RSA and working with childrens check

    I absolutely love both animals and the outdoors, having grown up with my father being a horticulturist, I have always kept my own garden and have gardening experience working at a historic private garden.

  • Age

    24 & 24

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I am currently studying Bachelor of Veterinary Science and would love to gain further experiences as well as enjoying my travels and embracing new opportunities.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian, will have seafood and I'm happy to cook my own food if needed!

Photos

Feedback