CARLA

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Puerto Rico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/02/2020 - 05/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    As of Dec. 20, 2019 I will be a RETIRED (yay! I can travel now!) professor of Philosophy & Religion from the California Community College system in Sonoma County, among the best wine country in the US, but also now famous for its devastating wildfires every October.
    As an empty-nester (my daughter is mid-20s, an engineer in Philadelphia), I am now an Airbnb host, renting out the upstairs of my house to mostly weekenders from the SF bay area, but I've hosted a few international travels. I am an avid organic gardener; I love to propagate plants to give away. Growing food sustainably without chemicals is my passion, as is playing piano & singing. Although I am officially a senior citizen, I remain physically strong by necessity: to manage my own chunk of land and do all the upkeep of my house as an Airbnb host.
    I long to travel more, to be able to work with you on your land, in your gardens, with your animals. So far, I'm planning a trip to Puerto Rico. Ever since the hurricane and the horrid treatment the islands received from the Trump administration, I've wanted to come help out, but now even more so: I'm inspired by the island's Agro-Ecology movement and growth of sustainable farms towards making P.R. food-independent. The recent political virtual revolution was so incredible to read about, I can't wait to talk to locals about the unity of commitment that accomplished that government overthrow. You rock! I love the sound of Vieques, hoping to spend time on that island. I spent 13 years on Oahu and miss living by the beach.
    I spent a sabbatical semester (6 months in 2014) in Sri Lanka, India, Nepal, Israel, France, & Spain, but I've been tied to my job since then. SO happy I get to come to your country soon and discover all about the plants you can grow in your very unique micro-climates.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • What skills do you have?

    As a college prof, my writing skills are probably my strongest; I was also an English language instructor to non-native speakers for many years while I was getting my doctoral degree. I also taught English in Japan for a year. My developing skill set now is growing food sustainably. I can also use a sewing machine, if you need sewing project help. As an Airbnb host, I do all manner of home-improvement projects & home-care. I used to be a private chef, so my cooking skills are reputable, though I am tired of being stuck in the kitchen! I'd rather work outside!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Age

    65

  • What else ...

    I know my age might be a deterrent, but I am very active with no health problems. If I stay home, I work much more than 5 hours a day around my own yard & house, so I expect to work hard for you. Sorry I have no building skills; I only do minor repairs at home, but I do all the painting inside & outside my house.
    I dislike air-conditioning and love hot weather so that I can go swimming. If it's very cold on your land, I'll need to know that in advance. It would be a deal breaker for me if I'm cold all the time while staying with you.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      not that I know of, but I probably haven't been to your country yet!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian but I eat fish if I trust the source. I eat eggs & a bit of dairy, no meat.

Feedback