Cara

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Sydney, Australia - from Jul 2019
    View all
  • Description

    Well hello hello! I'm 27 years old, born and raised in Madison, Wisconsin, however I have transitioned from the frozen tundra to the swamps of Florida, and now to the mountains of Boulder, Colorado. If I could describe myself in 3 words I'd say energetic, compassionate, and hardworking.

    These days I work as a second grade teacher, which leaves me plenty of time for adventures in the summer. Trying new things, spending time with good people, and being outside is what helps me recharge for the next school year. Workaway is the perfect avenue for this!

    A former Outward Bound Instructor, I have spent over 500 days of my life leading others on intensive 20-day outdoor trips. My favorite outdoor activities include sailing, backpacking, camping, rock climbing, mountaineering, and canoeing. I also identify as a marathon runner, mediocre ukulele player, intermediate Spanish speaker, traveler, friend, and sun baby.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    -I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse with a double major in Recreation Management and Spanish.
    -I am working towards a Masters degree at the University of Colorado - Denver in Education.
    -I have a lot of experience working with youth and working in Outdoor Education at Outward Bound and at Sanborn Western Camps.
    -In college I studied abroad and lived in Costa Rica for 5 months. While there I lived with a host family, explored, and I volunteered teaching an english class for beginners at a local library.
    -I am a hard-worker a team player, and am up for any task even if I've never tried it before!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback