Daniel

From: Brazil

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/02/2019 - 04/03/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I started my journey through Europe on the Camino de Santiago (Way of St. James), from Fatima (Portugal) to Santiago de Compostela (Spain), reaching the Cathedral on Christmas Day. After that, I continued traveling through Portugal, visiting most part of the country, then I decide to fly to Malta in January 2019 for my first Workaway experience, where I worked on renovating old stone houses near Mdina, the old city. For me, it's enriching to know the culture of several places in the world. I had the chance to explore many parts of Brazil during my major, and now I'm exploring other countries, having already visited Argentina, Chile, U.S.A., Canada, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Netherlands, Italy, Austria, Germany, Hungary and Israel. Workaway became for me a special way to make friends, sharing the world as it should be: free, harmonious and sustainable.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I came from a famiy that lived in a farm for a while, with cows, goats and vegetables and palm trees. We tried for while also permaculture at the farm, specially my youngest brother, that still works with that. In Brazil I already performed a lot of jobs, as gardening, animal care, painting, cooking, and my last job was working with computers at an government's office, trying to at some point change the reality of Brazil, helping fight against corruption. I also worked as an Information Technology professor at an University. In Malta, I learned everything about building, working with stones, plumbering, tiling and etc. As you can notice, work with different things is not a problem for me... ;-) About cooking, my great passion, as my origins is half Brazilian, half Portuguese, and my passion for cooking comes from the days of my childhood. I learned to cook several dishes of these two rich cultures. From Portugal I know how to make alheiras, açorda, pastel de nata and bacalhau, and from Brazil, feijoada, caipirinha and farofa, for example.

  • Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English

  • Age

    41

  • Nationality

    Brazilian / Portuguese

  • What else ...

    I have Portuguese citizenship, so I can travel in Europe as much as I want. I'm hard worker, a sort of handyman that can learn fast as many tasks as required. Learning new things and new skills satisfies me a lot. Cooking satisfies me much more. I enjoy to hear stories about people, places and travel. I also like to talk and know about beer/wine making, I used to brew beer at home in Brazil. In the last year, I was committed to developing techniques of natural fermentation and I baked various sourdorgh breads - you can check some pictures at my profile. Cheers!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

Dani_Vivi


Photos

Greenhouse built at the farm in Portugal
Greenhouse built at the farm in Portugal
Using creativity to reuse wood for shelf construction, sustainable practice
Workaway in a farm in Portugal
Workaway in Malta
Visiting Bethlehem
Workaway in Malta
Way of St. James (Camino de Santiago)
My nephews and me
Renovating tiles in Brazil
Taking care of goats at my family farm in Brazil
Some of the dishes I prepare
Making pizza

Feedback