Brian

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, French Polynesia, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/06/2019 - 02/02/2022

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a 43 year old from the UK, but i am half-american.
    For the last 12 years i have been traveling and working in Asia and Aus / NZ. I have lived in Japan for 3 years, and every year i go back to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds in New Zealand to work as a volunteer at an eco-tourism business, I normally work there during the winter doing property maintenance, helping to clear walking tracks and fixing the vehicles and buildings (normally after i damaged them in the first place), and i also do pest control, hunting possums, pigs , goats and deer in order to help the native bush to re-generate as fast as possible. During the tourist season i help with guided walks for tourists from overseas, and also with the cooking and cleaning for the guests.
    I enjoy working with people and living close to nature, we are blessed in New Zealand to have fishing and diving in clean waters on our doorstep. From April 23 2020 I was hoping to be in French Polynesia for almost 3 months, but my plans were cancelled due to the coronavirus.
    I am waiting out the situation in Australia, but will travel to NZ as soon as they open the borders again.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have some building / property maintenance experience, as well as some farming and hunting experience. I have worked in guest services with tourists in New Zealand and Japan, and worked on farms in Australia and NZ.
    For the last 15 years i have been volunteering every year at an eco-tourism / conservation business in Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand, working with tourists during the summer season, helping with guided walks, cooking and cleaning. During the off-season i help with property maintenance such as vehicle /building repairs, track maintenance and hunting introduced species both for food and as pest control.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Thai: Intermediate

  • Age

    44

  • Nationality

    British / American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      nuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      No bananas please, or rhubarb.

Photos

Feedback