Bri

From: Thailand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2018 - 01/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I have been working/volunteering around SE Asia for the past two years, and finally stumbled upon Permaculture while volunteering at a farm in Java, Indonesia. This discovery has completely transformed how I see the world (especially through a network of systems of design) and made me realize that I want to dedicate my life to spreading Permaculture into as many systems as I can! We must restore harmony to our poorly-designed modern world, and we can start with restoring the soil!
    My plan for the next year or so is to see and learn from as many Permaculture farms and intentional communities as I can (as well as sharing my own knowledge), before beginning my own designs and as well as a path towards teaching and designing, in the distant future.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I have recently finished attaining my PDC, and am gaining an eye for Permaculture design. I am familiar with many Permaculture techniques and strategies, such as sheet mulching, time stacking, water system design, and house energy conservation. I worked on multiple farms in the tropics, and am comfortable with the flora around this climate, but not as much in the sub-tropics and temperate regions. I am mainly interested in perennial, food forest, systems, and have a good amount of perennial maintenance skills. Also have experience in animal husbandry with ducks, goats and chickens. I consider myself a novice handiworker, as my father was a contractor and I learned a lot of diy tricks from him, as well as building several large-scale furniture pieces. I helped on a super adobe earth house and am familiar with the building process. I also have a wide range of fermentation knowledge and love experimenting with different flavors and ingredients (especially local, wild harvests!) I am bilingual in French and English and speak a decent amount of Thai, Spanish and bahasa Indonesian, and would love to learn more languages along the way! I travel with my guitar and love to sing, and recently picked up some digeridoo skills in Guatemala :)

  • Languages spoken

    fluent English, acceptable French and Indonesian

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am honest, hard-working and would love to help out my host in any way possible. I am here to learn just about anything and everything and understand respect is very important in that exchange process.

    I love to be surrounded by music and also enjoy a board game occasionally, too :) but my absolute favorite thing to do with people is just stargaze and have deep, philosophical conversations where questions, not answers, are the goal.

    I meditate, do yoga, and love to run when the environment and time feels right, and enjoy company doing these activities as well!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

grateful_traveler


Photos

Feedback