Bretta & Jean-Jacques

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/07/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi all! Bretta and Jean-Jacques here :)
    We are humans who make art and love to be outside! We are both insatiably curious and hardworking people (life-long-learners!!) who love adventure and are drawn to alternative and sustainable modes of living. We can't wait to get to know you and help out in any way we can!

    Here's a little bit about us :

    Bretta is a media and performance artist who mostly works with photographic and print mediums. She grew up in a small town in the beautiful and wild Blue Ridge mountains of North Carolina, did her schooling in Boston, then moved to Canada when Jean-Jacques stole her heart a little over 2.5 years ago and asked her to join him on a journey to the far north to help in researching a film he was working on. She's traveled to 17 different countries and finds immense joy in being on the move, experiencing the richness of life by learning about new cultures and immersing herself in them. She has a strong love for radical home economics, herbalisim, cooking, movement, art, and animals and is her happiest when she's in communion with nature.

    Jean-Jacques is a documentary filmmaker and media artist who grew up in Guayaquil, Ecuador, where he's spent a lot of time working the land on his family's organic mango farm. He just finished a masters degree in Montreal, where he has been living for 3 years (and now is ready to hit the road!). He loves to travel, meet people, understand & misunderstand places, experience nature in it's glory.

    We are leaving our current residence of Montreal right now to search for a new home in the southwest of the US or where ever the wind might blow us. Throughout this shift we are both looking to take some time to reconnect to a form of roots and recuperate from the tumult of city life, to heal with and for the earth, work humbly, learn new skills and share our stories and array of skills as well!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We're both very open minded, open heart-ed, hard working, dedicated, and driven people by nature. We're quick learners and very adaptable, flexible, eager.

    Bretta has skills and experience in working with animals of all kinds, loves to work with plants (and is so so eager to learn more about gardening / farming!). She's a budding herbalist, likes working with her hands (loves a good construction project!), is learning Spanish - fluent in English, likes working with children, is a killer cook, a graphic designer + bookmaker, knows a thing or two about chemistry, has great organizational skills + is very tidy, and your go-to girl for any photographic needs!

    Jean-Jacques has experience as a farmhand on an orchard in South America where he tended to mango, cocoa, coffee, and other exotic fruit trees. He speaks two and a half languages, and has traveled vastly and met a wide variety of cultures, peoples and perspectives due to his work as a documentary filmmaker.

    We're both incredibly willing and easy going folks who enjoy living communally + sustainably. We're always happy to lend a helping hand, learn something new, and play in dirt!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Some French

  • Age

    27 & 29

  • Nationality

    U.S. American & Ecuadorian

  • What else ...

    Right now our plan is to head south, place our things in storage, then workaway until we have a little more clarity in where we will be settling down. We're waiting to hear back from a few employment opportunities in New Mexico, but as of now - our lives are wide open and boy, is it exciting! So with this in mind, our "travel dates" are flexible :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Jean-Jacques is very allergic to cats if they are indoors & Bretta can't drink beer without some pretty gnarly consiquences - but that's pretty much it!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope! We are flexitarians!

Photos

Feedback