Brandon & Erin

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 12/01/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm a college student from the North Carolina, US. I am studying Math and Spanish, and am also an informal student of history and politics. I hope to gain from my travels valuable skills and experiences that just couldn't be had otherwise. I'm a native English speaker learning Spanish. I grew up on a farm, so I'm well acquainted with the tasks of gardening, handling animals, or hard work.
    Hi! I'm Brandon's partner, Erin. Brandon and I are recent grads from North Carolina, United States, and we both love meeting new people, learning new things, traveling, and getting to know new places/communities. Brandon is an amazing cook, he loves board games, reading, hiking, juggling, music, and is learning how to play the mandolin. I love playing music (banjo, ukulele, and singing:)), making videos, reading, cooking, and hiking. I've had a good bit of experience with teaching in tutoring through volunteer work and my job (2018-2019) at the Raleigh Academy of Chinese Language teaching English SAT prep on Saturdays. In May of this year, I received my 200 hour yoga teacher training certification from Asheville Yoga Center, and for the rest of this summer Brandon and I are both currently working in and exploring Denver, hiking in the Rocky Mountains, learning how to work on bikes at a local community bike shop, and volunteering as cooks and servers with Food Not Bombs! Once my seasonal work finishes up here in Denver we are looking to workaway somewhere in the fall - we can't wait to meet you! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Brandon has experience with...
    - farm work
    - organizing/fundraising
    - radio dj-ing
    - volunteering/cooking with Food Not Bombs
    - serving as a chef in a restaurant
    - BA in mathematics
    - learning film photography
    - somewhat proficient in spanish
    - working on bikes (still learning!)
    - basic cooking/cleaning

    Erin has experience with...
    - 200 hour yoga teacher certification from Asheville Yoga Center
    - WWOOFing (working on organic farms, tending to animals)
    - teaching English SAT prep
    - volunteer tutor working with elementary school students
    - banjo/ukulele/singing
    - radio dj-ing
    - podcasting
    - BA in media production (filming, interviewing, audio, editing, adobe suite)
    - BA in comparative literature
    - learning film photography
    - working with kids (camp counselor)
    - leadership/organizing (volunteer coordinator/president of a two-week, free creative writing camp, CampWrite-UNC)
    - creative writing/teaching creative writing
    - basic cooking/cleaning
    - somewhat proficient in spanish
    - working on bikes (still learning!)

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning Spanish

  • Age

    22 & 22

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Brandon has had some awesome experiences with workaway before, so he's excited to do it again. Erin has WWOOFed in the past and has loved that, so she's looking forward to trying out workaway!:)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Photos

Feedback