Bob

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I grew up next to a forest and love nature and animals- I like taking walks or riding my bike in nature, usually at a slow pace, getting lost...
    I have allways been busy constructing all kinds of things, from treehouses to self-made (usually useless though working ;-) instalations, what eventually made me complete a master study productdesign; I now have several years of experience as a professional designer of mainly cardboard displays and other stuff...
    Music, listening and also a bit making myself has allways been a big part of my life, just like reading...
    Further I like cooking and of course, since I am Belgian, enjoy drinking a beer with friends...

    As far as I can describe my own personality I would say I consider myself an easy-going, honest and positive person, realistic in the present and optimistic towards the future...

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have had first experiences with cob (building a rocket-stove-powered mass heater, a pizza-oven), superadobe building, constructing a reciprocal roof and have some basic (carpentry/wood) construction skills (practical and theoretical) and experience with technical (CAD), illustrative and observational drawing (2D and 3D, on paper and on computer), DTP (desktop publishing, photoshop and illustrator, writing texts), overal practical-problem-solving (I learned that every problem has more than one solution...), forklift driving, pouring drinks in equal amounts ;-), ... but most of all, because I really like to learn new skills, I pick up techniques quite easily- I know I'm not the fastest person around, probably due to a healthy need for perfection...

    I would like to improve my construction/crafting skills (building of houses, furniture and other user-objects, preferably with natural materials), as also learn some gardening/farming; my ultimate goal is to learn how to live self sustainable...

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, French, English, a bit German and Italian and a very little bit Portugese

  • Age

    38

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    I don't consider my 'working away' as a holliday, but rather as a (possible) new way of life; my goal is not travelling, but getting to a place where I can make myself usefull, enjoy myself while being usefull, and learn new skills, meet new people and discover new places...
    (I strongly believe that the moment you do a job you like it is no longer to be called 'work' and no longer a job actually- having fun at your dayjob, being able to follow your passion is priceless and far more important and rewarding than any paycheck could ever be...)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback