Anastasia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico, United States

  • Badges


  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Originally from Novosibirsk, Siberia, I moved to Houston at age 4 and have made it my home.

    I'm an artist, filmmaker, sister, and friend, and I am working tirelessly on myself to create my dream life, impact people in my community, and create a ripple effect of happiness in this world.

    In the summer of 2018, I had plans to volunteer in Tuscany which unfortunately fell through. A few days later after hurriedly looking for last minute workaway opportunities, I met a kid on a motorcycle from Mexico who was traveling the world. Next thing you know, I'm in the passenger seat and we're driving through Croatia and Bosnia, finally arriving in Greece. There, Yurgos and Katerina were accepting last minute workawayers on their organic self sustainable farm on an island called Euboea. I stayed with this community for close to a month, occasionally manning the farm alone with another volunteer. I milked goats, fed pigs, handled chickens, and harvested vegetables every single day. It was the happiest time of my life and ever since then I see clearly a tie between happiness and meditative manual labor and discipline.

    Although the beginning of this year had been very difficult for me spiritually, mentally, and financially, I was able to get over the mountain. I worked at the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, first as a security guard then in guest services. But sooner or later, the stability of it all wasn't proving worthy -- I wasn't fulfilled, in fact, I was dead. Then 3 months into the job that I was barely tolerating, I read that "the opposite of happiness isn't sadness, it's boredom." The next day I put in my two weeks, realizing that so much of my spirit had died not because of adversity but because I had nothing on the line. Nothing was at risk and my problems were small. And I wanted to feel as alive as I did when I ran a whole farm with another volunteer. I wanted to feel alive alive as I do when I work on film projects and problem solve breakdowns.

    So today I am creating my life instead of settling for a premeditated one. I am looking forward to being in nature again, having the space and time to practice mindfulness and meditation, and have my actions move life forward.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Writing
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Videography
    Photography
    Politics / Social justice

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    -fast learner
    -excellent at cleaning and organizing
    -skilled photographer and filmmaker
    -highly effective communicator
    -efficient and competent
    -

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I am interested in learning spanish or italian! I can practice speaking english and russian with my hosts and others!

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Russian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback