Bernadette

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Caledonia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/01/2020 - 30/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    Hi, my name is Bernadette. I come from Angers, west side of France. My two sons are away from the nest (and building their own), so I feel like travelling again and meeting new people while being useful to them. I love to speak foreign languages and talk with people from different cultures and habits, make new friends, discover new landscapes, taste new dishes. Life is so full of surprises !
    I have been in Australia for nearly two years now. I liked it so much that I want to discover Tasmania before continuing my journey to New Caledonia.
    I am easy-going, open-minded, very hard-working and cheerful.
    If you wish to welcome me in your home I will just ask for a confortable bed in a private room, access to a shower at least once a day in return for the help I can bring you (food is optional depending on the number of working hours). I think that around 20 hours work per week for a full boarding is a fair deal on both parts.
    Also : I am not interested only in getting food and accommodation. My aim is to be considered as a new relative of your family and share your daily life during a couple weeks, so if you are just into getting cheap workforce, I may not be the right person for you.
    I am a non-smoker but I enjoy having a social drink every now and then (specially Chardonnay). I have no special diet and I can eat and enjoy any kind of good cuisine.
    Looking forward to reading from you...

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I once was a teacher of French as a foreign language. I am an average cook for French standards and I have always managed to make a tasty and healthy cuisine for the family. I am tidy, even fussy about cleaning, and I can be an excellent housekeeper. I like gardening, that is: remove weeds, mow the lawn, prune trees, etc.
    Last but not least I am fond of animals and I can take care of your dogs, cats, goldfish... and even sheep, goats, hens... as I grew up on a farm.

  • Languages spoken

    French, Spanish, English, some Italian, some words of Aussie lingo and a bit of German

  • Age

    61

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    Feel free to ask me whichever questions you might need.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Flying over the Whitsundays
In Menya's kitchen
Whipper-snipping in Kent, UK
In Adelaide, this poor lil' garden needed TLC
So 24 hours later...
Veggie garden in KI
on holidays in Spain
My choir (I am on the first row, second from the right)

Feedback