Solveig & Loïc

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, New Zealand, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/10/2016 - 22/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    410

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Greetings !

    Thanks for reading our profile. As we are experienced Workawayers, we pay very much attention to everyone's profile. So we are grateful if you do the same with us.
    About us : We are Solveig and Loïc, two backpackers from Normandy travelling as a couple around the World since November 2016. Loïc is 31 and Solveig is 28.

    Since October 2018, we are back on the road wishing to complete our world trip started on 2016. After 5 months travelling through Japan, Hong Kong, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, we are currently exploring, living and working in New Zealand since last February 2019. Our amazing journey in Aoteraoa is now coming to its end as we are flying away to South America for a 5 months trip in Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Columbia and Costa Rica before heading back to our Normandy shores.

    We are respectful and outgoing people and are very easy to get along with. We both speak english and spanish and developed different skills thanks to Workaway. From farm works in Iceland, receptionist in a few hostels in Costa Rica or even dogsitters and house keepers with an adorable Canadian Family, we are friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic folks always up for some good talks.
    We focus our trip on meeting people and discovering unknown locations with a local eye. There is no better way to travel !

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We both are good cooks as we are very fond of homemade cooking. We love to prepare healthy and local products that we found weekly on the market. Loïc used to work for 3 years in a Spanish restaurant as a cook. We shall give you a good hand regarding cooking. I also love to prepare yummy pastries and bakeries on my sparetime.

    We both have grandparents living in the french countryside, back there we gave our help several time working in small farms owned by friends of our family during summertime (wheat harvest, vegetables seeding, planting & gardening, milking cows and goats, cleaning chicken and goose hutches, feeding animals ....)

    Regarding building skills, Loïc used to work for 3 months for a local city in Normandy where he realized several tasks to maintain local premises and equipment (painting, sanding, varnishing, and several small frameworks ...). Regarding me, my dad is a high skilled builder as a freelance. He nearly builded our home from nothing. I gave him my help several times and I learned a lot from him and should be able to help you out as well.

    We both have several experiences regarding babysitting skills. Loïc used to be a basket-ball coach during 3 years for children aged 6 to 12 in his former club. He passed a french national basket-ball association diploma in Sports training and coaching for the youth. Regarding me, I used to babysit children aged 1 to 14 during 6 years several nights per month. I am also the eldest within my family so I had to take care of my twin little sisters while my parents were away from home.

    We had the chance to volunteer as receptionnist in two hostels in Costa Rica. We loved it and handled it very good and payed very much attention and care to all the guests we had the chance to meet. We also runned for a few months an Airbnb in our hometown in our former large flat in the city center. We loved it as much as our guest were delighted to spend some time with us.
    Anyway, we would love to experience that kind of volunteering mission again in another part of the World.

  • Languages spoken

    français, anglais, espagnol, italien

  • Age

    28 & 31

  • Nationality

    Française

  • What else ...

    We both love pets and all kind of animals, we both grew up with them during our childhood.
    We are very concerned about ecology, more than ever today. It is a topic which should not be forgotten these days and it would be a great honor to work with people who share the same value. We would be very pleased to learn a lot about sustainable farming techniques, apply them and share this knowledge with other people during our worldtrip.

    Here is the link of our travel blog, http://frenchie-travel.com/ , feel free to visit to learn more about our journey and our persons !

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No known allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Feedback