Charles

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Finland, Georgia, Hungary, Iceland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/09/2017 - 31/10/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    361

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am travelling and working at the moment and have been in Portugal for nearly 5 years on and off, apart from a few months working in England. Last year I worked with a Gardener and Landscaper company and I lived in Monchique area for around a year. I have also lived and worked in France, Spain, Italy and Austria. I currently live near to Lisbon where I have been for 3 years, .

    I am interested in and worked a little in natural health, wild food, hiking, exploring. My aim is to travel and work and also look for places to possibly purchase my own land and start a small project. I have helped with woodland management and at a woodland restoration project, where I also organised a small music acoustic music event.

    In England, I studied and worked on an organic farm and also a small independent wholefood organic shop. I play drums and also like to make my own music, draw when I can etc. I have done hospital and community radio and cycled from eastern England to West Wales (about 600km) for a local charity.

    I am not a massively extroverted person but I have my moments. I like to get things done in a good way. I work well on my own but also like the camaraderie and interaction with a few people around. I have a pretty good sense of humour but also can be a "thinker". A nice combination. :-) I am keen to see as many different types of projects and places as I can before settling on my own place. When I have the time, I like to play around making films, photos, art, or restoring and salvaging things I find. Mostly at the moment, I am focused in music.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Primarily, Gardening/Landscaping/building work/Property maintenance since a young age. Have also worked with tourists, worked in organic wholefood shops, so customer service, admin work also.

  • Languages spoken

    Basic French, some basic Portuguese, some words of German.

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Profile name reason: I have kept bees!
    I have worked at an Organic Free Range chicken farm where I looked after around 1000 chickens.
    I am flexible to the type of work but have experience of landscaping/gardening. I also do not mind any other types of work, working with people, natural health, outdoor activities, ecological projects, domestic, renovation, natural building, maintenance.
    I first volunteered wwoofing in Bulgaria 10 years ago, on the first wwoof farm in the country, ran by a ex government GMO crop scientist, who left the work as he did not agree with the research and use of GMO.
    I have helped with a woodland preservation project in England where I also kept bees
    Since 2012 I have spent much of my time helping on farm projects in Portugal as well as employment gardening and organic farm work, with some periods of months also working in England.

    At the moment, I am also finishing a soundtrack to a documentary film, first one ever, though I am more a "sound artist" rather than a trained musician but I have played drums to a reasonable standard.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not allergic but, not so much a daily diet of pasta and dairy, though I do eat these, just not in large daily quanitities for extended periods. A week or so is usually ok though.

    • Special dietary requirements
      nothing totally specific and stringent but I do not eat so much pasta (ie: every day) or cheese, bananas, dairy in general, due to some minor medical reasons. Also, i eat meat but not so much pork (though I do occasionally) I more eat fish or chicken. I a

Photos

Feedback